NordVPN

VPNArea Testbericht

unsere Zusammenfassung

VPNArea ist ein Provider mit Firmensitz in Bulgarien, der in der Schweiz gehostet wird und in puncto Sicherheit robust und zugleich benutzerfreundlich ist. Zusätzlich zu seinen großartigen Datenschutzmaßnahmen bietet das Unternehmen einige tolle Funktionen, einen guten Kundendienst sowie eine 7-tägige Geld-zurück-Garantie. Finde mehr heraus, indem du auf die Taste unten klickst oder nach unten scrollst, um unsere eingehende VPNArea-Bewertung zu lesen!

Our Score

9.6
NominationNomination
Some alternative options for you...
ExpressVPN
Our Score
9.8
From
$6.67
per month
NordVPN
Our Score
9.8
From
$3.29
per month
IPVanish
Our Score
9.2
From
$3.25
per month

VPNArea bietet drei verschiedene Zahlungsmodelle, wobei die monatlichen Preise sinken, je länger das Abo gilt. Ein einmonatiges Abo kostet monatlich $9,90 und wird dann bei einem sechsmonatigen Abo auf $8,33 pro Monat reduziert. Mit einem Jahresabo machen Nutzer bei einem Preis von $4,92 das größte Schnäppchen überhaupt – eine Reduktion von 49% im Vergleich zum Monatsabo.

VPNArea pricing

Leider bietet VPNArea keine kostenlose Probeversion, welche die Nutzer verwenden können, um die Dienste des Providers zu testen, bevor sie sich für das bevorzugte Abo entscheiden. Es wird jedoch eine siebentägige Geld-zurück-Garantie geboten. Falls du also vor Ablauf einer Woche entscheidest, dass VPNArea nichts für dich ist, wird VPNArea dir gerne dein Geld zurückerstatten.

Was Cash angeht, so akzeptiert VPNArea eine Reihe verschiedener Zahlungsmethoden. Zusätzlich zu den Standard-Kreditkarten Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, UnionPay, JCB und Maestro können Nutzer auch durch eWallets wie PayPal, Payza und Webmoney Zahlungen vornehmen. Bitcoin ist auch im Angebot, was toll ist für Nutzer, die auf der Suche nach mehr Anonymität sind.

Fazit

PROS:
  • „Keine Protokolle“-Regelung
  • Tolle Sicherheitsfunktionen
  • Optionales, dediziertes IP-Add-on
CONS:
  • Kein Rund-um-die-Uhr Service

Merkmale

VPNArea befindet sich im Besitz der Offshore Security LTD, einer Firma mit Sitz in Bulgarien (für die der Gerichtsstand daher Bulgarien ist), deren Server und E-Mails jedoch in der Schweiz gehostet werden.

Zu weiteren Merkmalen von VPNArea zählen:

VPNArea features
Wie du oben siehst, stehen dir bezüglich VPNArea eine Menge Optionen zur Verfügung. Der bulgarische Provider weist Hunderte von Hochgeschwindigkeitsservern in über 54 Ländern auf. Die Bandbreite reicht hier von häufigeren Ländern (Australien, Kanada, UK, USA) bis hin zu ungewöhnlicheren (Saudi Arabien, Südkorea, Russland, Südafrika). Diese Abdeckung der seltener bedienten Regionen der Welt sorgt für ein wahrhaft globales Netzwerk, welches sicherstellt, dass die Mehrheit der Personen, die im Markt auf der Suche nach einer guten VPN sind, zufriedengestellt werden. Fragst du dich, ob das Land, für das du eine IP-Adresse möchtest, von VPNArea abgedeckt wird? Schau dir die Abbildung unten an.

VPNArea servers

Außerdem findest du Informationen zur Abdeckung jedes Landes (wie z.B. Anzahl der Server), indem du einen Blick auf die Server-Netzwerkliste von VPNArea wirfst. Diese findest du über die klar gekennzeichnete Taste auf der Hauptseite dieser Website.

Du kannst die weltweite Abdeckung von VPNArea dank seiner großzügigen fünf Simultanverbindungen nicht nur mit einem, sondern mit all deinen Geräten nutzen. Diese müssen dir noch nicht einmal gehören – VPNArea führt auf, dass die Handys, Desktop-Computer, Tablets und Router der Mitglieder deines Haushalts durch dein Abo abgedeckt werden können, solange diese sich unter dem Limit befinden.

Dedizierte IP mit privatem VPN-Server

VPNArea-Kunden können einen geringen Betrag von $15 pro Jahr zahlen, um ihrem bestehenden Abo eine dedizierte IP mit privatem Server hinzuzufügen. Diese bietet dir die Freiheit, aus einer Vielzahl von Ländern auszuwählen. Hierzu zählen beliebte Länder wie z.B. UK, USA, die Niederlande und Australien, wobei der Preis vom jeweiligen Land abhängt.

VPNArea dedicated IP

Der Preis für die dedizierte IP von VPNArea ist seit unserer letzten Bewertung ziemlich angestiegen, bleibt innerhalb des Marktes jedoch wettbewerbsfähig und zählt weiterhin zu einem der niedrigsten Preise. Außerdem ist dies die einzige dedizierte IP (soweit sie und wir wissen), die einen kostenlosen privaten VPN-Server beinhaltet.

Eine dedizierte IP-Adresse mit privatem Server wird Technikfreaks sowie jedem, der Mail- oder Gaming-Server betreiben will, zusagen. Es ist außerdem unwahrscheinlicher, dass eine geteilte VPN-IP-Addresse von Diensten wie US Netflix wahrgenommen und gesperrt wird! Dennoch ist es wichtig, daran zu denken, dass eine private IP-Adresse leicht auf DICH zurückzuführen ist und somit nicht die beste Option darstellt, falls Datenschutz deine Top-Priorität ist.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt in diesem Abschnitt unserer VPNArea-Bewertung: Die dedizierte IP mit privatem VPN-Server ist ein optionales Add-on, welches nur für sechsmonatige sowie Jahres-Abos gilt. Sie steht nicht für Monatsabos zur Verfügung.

VPNArea besuchen »

Sicherheit & Datenschutz

Wie im vorigen Abschnitt bereits erwähnt, unterliegt VPNArea aufgrund seines Standorts in der Schweiz und der Registrierung in Bulgarien nicht den obligatorischen Gesetzen zur Datenaufbewahrung, die anderswo in Europa gelten. In seinem Abschnitt zu ‘Häufig gestellten Fragen’ gibt VPNArea an, dass das Unternehmen nicht den Gesetzen der Datenaufbewahrung unterliegt, die in dem Land gelten, in dem es registriert ist. Daher ist das Unternehmen nach eigener Aussage in der Lage, zu operieren, ohne Protokolle der Aktivitäten seiner Kunden zu speichern.

Wie jedoch ein Kommentator dieses Artikels betont, bedeutet die Tatsache, dass VPNArea in der Schweiz gehostet wird, dass die Daten des Unternehmens den schweizerischen Datenaufbewahrungsgesetzen unterliegen können. Dies könnte sich nachteilig auf die Sicherheit von VPNArea und sein Versprechen auswirken, keine Protokolle aufzuzeichnen. Allerdings ist noch nicht klar, wie (und ob überhaupt) diese schweizerischen Gesetze für VPNs gelten, welche oft eine Grauzone darstellen. Es scheint schwierig zu sein, harte Fakten dazu zu finden, wie sich schweizerische Datenaufbewahrungsgesetze auf VPN-Provider auswirken. Daher kann ich nicht mit Sicherheit etwas Aussagekräftiges zu diesem Thema sagen, werde diesen Abschnitt jedoch aktualisieren, sobald weitere Informationen verfügbar sind. In Ermangelung konkreter Antworten ist es jedoch stets am besten, auf Nummer sicher zu gehen.

(Eine weitere Warnung: Wenn es um Provider geht, die behaupten, keine Protokolle zu haben, solltest du diese Aussage mit einer gewissen Vorsicht behandeln. Allerdings hat es noch keinen Fall gegeben, bei dem VPNArea Benutzerinformationen offengelegt oder weitergereicht hat, so dass wir dazu neigen, der Aussage des Unternehmen zu glauben. Trotzdem kann es nicht schaden, ein wenig Skepsis an den Tag zu legen – insbesondere dann, wenn es um Datenschutz und Sicherheit geht.)

VPNArea security features

VPNArea-Bewertung: Verschlüsselung

Im technischen Bereich unterstützt VPNArea die Protokolle OpenVPN, L2TP, und PPTP.

Falls dir dein Online-Datenschutz sowie deine Online-Sicherheit wichtig ist, raten wir dir dringend von der Wahl von PPTP ab, da dies bekanntermaßen nicht sicher und seitens Dritter leicht zu entschlüsseln ist. Stattdessen schlagen wir vor, dass du dich für das weitaus sicherere OpenVPN und L2TP entscheidest.

Wir persönlich würden uns für OpenVPN entscheiden, da VPNArea das Open-Source-Protokoll unter Nutzung des knallharten 256-Bit-AES-Algorithmus verschlüsselt. L2TP ist auch sicher (und bestimmt sicherer als PPTP!) sowie bekanntermaßen schneller als OpenVPN, so dass dies die bessere Option für jene sein kann, denen Geschwindigkeit wichtiger ist als Datenschutz.

Um mehr zu den verschiedenen Arten von Protokollen sowie den jeweiligen Vor- und Nachteilen zu erfahren, kannst du unseren umfassenden Produktvergleich durchlesen.

Integrierte Sicherheitssysteme

Unsere VPNArea-Bewertung hat ein paar raffinierte Sicherheitssysteme aufgezeigt, die in dessen Software eingebaut sind und die jeder Sicherheitsliebhaber bestimmt schätzen wird.

Als erstes ist das Anti-WebRTC-System zu erwähnen, welches das WebRTC Leak auf Windows löst, eine Browser-Funktion, die deinen Standort offenlegen kann, selbst wenn du mit einem VPN verbunden bist. Das Anti-WebRTC-System korrigiert dieses Leak und verhindert somit, dass Websites deinen echten Standort herausfinden.

An zweiter Stelle ist das Anti-DNS-Leak-System von VPNArea zu nennen. Während ein VPN dein Browsen im Web verschlüsselt und verhindert, dass dein Internet-Serviceprovider deinen Datenverkehr sieht, hindert es diesen nicht daran, die Namen der Websites zu sehen, die du besuchst. Das liegt daran, dass ein Computer die Server deines Internetproviders nutzt, um einen Hostnamen (oder eine URL) in eine IP zu verwandeln. Du kannst verhindern, dass dein Provider spioniert, was du online machst, indem du das Anti-DNS-Leak-System von VPNArea aktivierst, wodurch du deine DNS-Server ändern und überprüfen kannst, in welchem Land diese ihren Standort haben.

Killswitch

Wie jeder VPN-Provider, dem Datenschutz auch nur ein bisschen wichtig ist, verfügt die Client-Software von VPNArea über einen Killswitch. Wenn du diese Funktion aktivierst und eine Verbindung zu einem Server aufbaust und die VPN an einer beliebigen Stelle nicht mehr funktioniert, trennt der Killswitch deine Internetverbindung, um zu verhindern, dass du ungeschützt bist.

Ist dir noch nicht klar, was ein Killswitch ist, und wie er funktioniert? Lies diese Definition und andere des VPN-Jargons in unserem Glossar.

Automatischer IP-Wechsler

Diese nette kleine Funktion kann genutzt werden, um deiner Internetsitzung ein Stück mehr Sicherheit hinzuzufügen. Wenn du sie einschaltest, kannst du dein bevorzugtes Intervall in Minuten einstellen. Du kannst zum Beispiel einstellen, dass es alle 15 Minuten geändert wird. Danach wird deine IP -Adresse alle 15 Minuten einem Zufalls-Server zugewiesen. Ziemlich cool!

Die Website

Unsere VPNArea-Bewertung hat festgestellt, dass die Website ein bisschen einem Sammelsurium entspricht. Insgesamt ist sie geschmackvoll gestaltet und erfordert wenig Navigation, wobei sich die meisten Informationen, nach denen Kunden suchen, auf der längeren Zielseite befinden. Das Layout ist sauber und wird von einigen modernen Schaubildern begleitet, die optisch angenehm sind.

VPNArea review

Dennoch ist der Rest der Website ein bisschen aufs Geratewohl gestaltet, denn die Informationen sind unstimmig und ein Stück weit überall verstreut. Insbesondere der Abschnitt ‘Häufig gestellte Fragen’ ist – auch wenn sie hilfreich und informativ bezüglich des Unternehmens und VPNs im Allgemeinen ist – bedauerlicherweise überholt und enthält ein paar Antworten, denen an anderer Stelle der Website widersprochen wird.

Wenn du jedoch ein wenig suchst, kannst du schließlich das Gesuchte finden. Ein bestimmtes Such-Tool ist nicht enthalten, aber oben auf der Seite befinden sich Ansatzpunkte unter Kategorien wie “Mitglieder,” “Jetzt kaufen” “Foren,” “Häufig gestellte Fragen” und “Kontakte”.

Support

VPNArea bietet eine nette Auswahl an Support-Optionen. Antworten zu den häufigsten Fragen, die Nutzer haben, befinden sich auf der Seite ‘Häufig gestellte Fragen’, aber wie ich oben schon erwähnt habe, ist diese ziemlich überholt. Daher schlage ich vor, VPNArea direkt zu kontaktieren, falls du ein dringendes Problem hast. Dies kannst du per E-Mail (support@vpnarea.com), über Skype (vpnarea-support) oder über den Live Chat tun, auf den du über die gelbe Taste unten rechts auf der Webseite des Providers zugreifen kannst.

VPNArea customer support

Um die Support-Dienste des Unternehmens zu testen, haben wir beschlossen, eine Anfrage bezüglich seiner Funktion der dedizierten IP-Adresse zu stellen und diese über den Live Chat beantworten zu lassen. Leider haben wir folgende Nachricht erhalten:

VPNArea live chat

Wir sind zwar enttäuscht, dass VPNArea einen Live Chat hat, der nicht rund um die Uhr besetzt ist, haben unsere Anfrage jedoch per E-Mail gesendet und erhielten eine Antwort innerhalb eines Tages, d.h. das Unternehmen steht zu seinem Wort. Der Beauftragte war höflich und gut informiert und konnte unsere Frage direkt beantworten. Er stellte uns sogar zusätzliche Informationen bezüglich sowohl der dedizierten IP-Adresse als auch der Sicherheitsmerkmale des Dienstes zur Verfügung.

Zusätzlich zu den festgelegten Kundensupport-Plattformen können Nutzer auch versuchen, mit VPNArea über dessen Social-Media-Seiten zu kommunizieren. Das Unternehmen hat Profile sowohl auf Twitter (@vpnareacom) als auch Facebook (VPN Area – Offshore Security EOOD) und hat in der Vergangenheit Kundenanfragen auf beiden beantwortet.

Der Prozess

Anmeldung

Die Anmeldung auf VPNArea ist recht einfach. Wenn du einfach auf“Jetzt kaufen” auf der Hauptseite klickst, siehst deren Anmeldungsformular, das du nutzen kannst, um dich wie beschrieben „innerhalb von Sekunden anzumelden“.

register for VPNArea

Wie du oben siehst, musst du die folgenden Informationen zur Verfügung stellen, um ein Abo bei VPNArea zu erhalten: Vorname, Nachname, E-Mail-Adresse und Land. Du wirst außerdem darum gebeten, einen Benutzernamen und ein Passwort zu generieren, anzugeben, wie du auf VPNArea aufmerksam geworden bist und das Feld zur menschlichen Authentifizierung anzukreuzen.

Dir wird außerdem eine breite Auswahl an Zahlungsoptionen geboten, welche wir ausgiebig im Abschnitt ‘Preise & Modelle’ dieser VPNArea-Bewertung besprechen.

Nach deiner Anmeldung kannst du unmittelbar auf den exklusiven Mitgliederbereich zugreifen. Du erhältst außerdem eine Begrüßungs-E-Mail, die Konteninformationen, Installations- und Konfigurations-Links sowie direkte E-Mail-Adressen des Verkaufs- und Support-Teams und des Geschäftsführers enthält.

Installation von VPNArea auf Windows 10

Die Installation von VPNArea auf meinem Windows 10 Desktop war so einfach wie das Klicken auf die Tab “VPN einrichten” im reinen Mitgliederbereich und das Finden der Taste für Win 10/8/7/Vista/XP. Danach wurde ich auf eine Seite umgeleitet, die Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitungen zur Installation enthielt. Diese waren einfach zu befolgen und wurden von hilfreichen Screenshots begleitet.

Die Einrichtung selbst war extrem einfach. Sobald der Setup-Assistent loslegte, war es nur eine Frage von Sekunden, dem Ablauf zu folgen.

VPNArea setup wizard

Es dauerte nur wenige Minuten, bis die Installation abgeschlossen war und das VPNArea-Symbol auf meinem Desktop erschien. Um ihn danach zu öffnen, musst du mit der rechten Maustaste draufklicken und auf ‘Als Administrator ausführen’ klicken. Danach erscheint der Client.

Der VPNArea Windows VPN Client

Sobald der VPNArea Windows Client geöffnet war, musste ich einfach meinen Benutzernamen und mein Passwort eingeben, meinen gewünschten Server wählen und auf Verbinden klicken. Ich war dann innerhalb von Minuten verbunden und geschützt.

VPNArea Windows 10

Was den VPNArea Client betrifft, bekommst du genau das, was du siehst. Alles ist auf der linken Seite klar gekennzeichnet und sauber strukturiert, wodurch es dir ermöglicht wird, das VPN gemäß deiner Präferenzen zu konfigurieren. Es ist auch unglaublich einfach, das alles zu tun, wodurch es sehr benutzerfreundlich ist.

Der “Server und Geschwindigkeit”-Tab ermöglicht es dir, alle verfügbaren Server zu sehen, die VPNArea weltweit anbietet. Eine Verbindung kannst du jedoch nur über die Homepage herstellen. Du kannst auf dieser Seite auch andere nette Dinge tun: zum Beispiel kannst du einen Geschwindigkeitstest auf allen oder ausgewählten Servern durchführen und Serverbelastungs-Informationen anzeigen lassen, um zu sehen, wie viele Nutzer auf jedem Server online sind.

VPNArea servers list

Wie der Name schon sagt, kannst du unter dem “Killswitch”-Tab den Killswitch des VPN nach Belieben aktivieren bzw. deaktivieren. Wir haben ihn für unsere VPNArea-Bewertung getestet und er hat perfekt funktioniert, indem er unsere Internetverbindung getrennt hat, damit wir nicht unerwartet ungeschützt waren. Der “Anti-DNS Leak“ -Tab funktioniert so ziemlich auf die gleiche Weise. Wir haben diesen sowie das Anti-WebRTC-System von VPNArea ausführlicher im Abschnitt „Leistung“ dieser Bewertung getestet.

VPNArea killswitch

Der automatische IP-Wechsler ist genauso einfach einzurichten wie die anderen Funktionen, denn du kannst ihn einfach einschalten und deine gewünschte Anzahl an Minuten festlegen. Diese können jederzeit geändert werden.

VPNArea ip changer
Schließlich kannst du im Einstellungen-Tab VPNArea so einstellen, dass es zum Beispiel startet, sobald Windows gestartet wird, sich automatisch mit dem letzten Server, den du genutzt hast, verbindet, nach täglichen Aktualisierungen sucht und den Ipv6-Leak-Schutz aktiviert.

Leistung (Geschwindigkeits-, DNS-, WebRTC- und IPv6- Tests)

vpnarea-download-testvpnarea-upload-test
Die Abbildungen zeigen die höchsten, niedrigsten und durchschnittlichen Geschwindigkeiten für jeden Server und Standort. Siehe unsere vollständige Erklärung zu Geschwindigkeiten für weitere Details.

Meine VPNArea Download-Geschwindigkeitsergebnisse sind ziemlich beeindruckend, wobei die Standorte Frankfurt und London die exakt gleichen Geschwindigkeiten aufwiesen, die erzielt werden, wenn ich nicht mit einem VPN verbunden bin! Diese Standorte schwankten zwischen einer Download-Geschwindigkeit von 30 und 50 Mbps – das ist toll, um Netflix oder jeden anderen Content zu streamen, der in deinem Land möglicherweise gesperrt ist.

Bezüglich der US-amerikanischen Testergebnisse war ich jedoch leicht enttäuscht, da die Upload-Geschwindigkeiten irgendwie höher lagen als die Download-Geschwindigkeiten. Ob dies bei VPNArea ein regelmäßiges Problem darstellt, muss man abwarten, aber es lohnt sich, dies im Auge zu behalten, falls du auf der Suche nach einer schnellen US-amerikanischen VPN bist.

Ich konnte während der Geschwindigkeitstests für diese VPNArea-Bewertung keine DNS-Leaks feststellen, was stets ein angenehmes Ergebnis ist. Du kannst ipleak.net nutzen, um selbst nach DNS- und WebRTC-Leaks zu schauen, während test-ipv6.com jegliche Gefährdung bezüglich Ipv6-Leaks feststellen wird. Derweil ist doileak.net eine Mischung aus allen zuvor erwähnten Tests. Wir bei BestVPN.com empfehlen dringend, dass du diese Tests ab und zu durchführst, um sicherzustellen, dass die Stärke und Sicherheit deines VPN ordnungsgemäß gewährleistet wird.

Andere Plattformen

Zusätzlich zu Windows unterstützt VPNArea alle wesentlichen Betriebssysteme – nämlich Mac, iOS (iPad und iPhone), Android, Chromebook und Linux – sowie Router wie z.B. DD-WRT, Merlin Firmware und Tomato. Umfassende Anleitungen zur Konfiguration jeder unterstützten Plattform findest du im nur für Mitglieder bestimmten Bereich von VPNArea, und du kannst die Einrichtung blitzschnell durchführen.

Wähend der Client auf allen Plattformen nahezu identisch ist, bieten iPhone and iPad eine raffinierte Extra-Funktion: die OpenVPN Verbindungs-App.

Fazit der VPNArea-Bewertung

Was mir gefallen hat:

  • „Keine Protokolle“-Regelung
  • Dedizierte IP-Adresse mit dem Add-on ‘privater Server’
  • Toller Kundenservice mit einer Vielzahl von Kontaktoptionen
  • Gute Sicherheitsmerkmale

Worüber ich nicht so sicher war

  • Verwirrende Website, die einige überholte Informationen enthält
  • Live Chat nicht rund um die Uhr besetzt
  • Unklarheit bezüglich Sicherheit des schweizerischen Standorts

Was mir überhaupt nicht gefiel

  • Nichts

Lass uns diese VPNArea-Bewertung kurz zusammenfassen, in Ordnung? VPNArea ist ein Provider mit Fokus auf Datenschutz, der seinen Sitz in Bulgarien hat und in der Schweiz gehostet wird. Er verfügt über einige beeindruckende Sicherheitsmaßnahmen – dazu zählen eine strikte ‘keine Protokolle’-Regelung, 256-Bit-AES-Verschlüsselung, eine DNS-Leak-Erkennung und ein Killswitch – zusätzlich zu anderen tollen Merkmalen wie einem schnellen und hilfreichen Kundenservice und einer dedizierten IP-Adresse mit einem privaten Server-Add-on. Während die Website in manchen Bereichen ein wenig überholt ist, ist die Client-Software topaktuell, und darauf kommt es letztlich am meisten an. Nachdem wir es für diese VPNArea-Bewertung getestet haben, waren wir beeindruckt, und wir denken, dir wird es genauso gehen. Es schadet nicht, sich noch heute anzumelden, um zu sehen, ob VPNArea der VPN-Provider für dich ist – dank der 7-tägigen Geld-zurück-Garantie besteht kein Risiko!

VPNArea besuchen »

Katrina Power

Canadian freelance writer and social media marketer currently living in France. Avid lover of solo travel, new technology, fashion, international affairs, and French music.

81 Antworten auf “VPNArea-Bewertung

  1. I’ve been with VPNArea for a few months now after a disappointing year with with PureVPN – DNS leaks every session, regular disconnects, email/live chat responses that were 95% copy and paste jobs (and therefore rarely answered the question on hand), aggressive email marketing, slow speeds, software loaded with excess cr@p that you never use (without getting core basics right), etc (s (5/10 at best). So VPNArea has been a much better experience (7/10). Issue however are as follows:

    (1) Most importantly, when servers go offline they are usually offline for a l.o.n.g. time. Recent cases in point – Adelaide/Perth, Denmark, Argentina, Colombia, Romania, Mexico have been down for days. I don’t think I have EVER seen a customer on Argentina P2P server – can NEVER connect to it, nor Costa Rica (yes, VPNArea shows number of users on each server). In fact, I avoid all South American servers as they are either always offline or never connect (or regularly disconnect).

    (2) Emails to staff rarely get answered in relation to (1) above. Checking for last 3 days, I see still no users on Argentina and still cannot connect…same issue last 3 months and not fixed nor explained in forums.

    (3) Forum is a disgrace…rarely any action and weird order of posts.

    I’ll not be renewing at year end – will try another one (changed every year for last 5 years!).

    Bottom line..no perfect VPN out here.

    The problem is is they load their software with every feature possible but instead should focus on making the few simple basics work 100% – good speed, no logs, no disconnects, no leaks, small # of servers that have bandwidth

    1. Dear Jitterbug,

      Thank you for your 7/10 score of VPNArea. I would like to address some of the issues you’ve raised and to tell you about some exciting changes:
      1) Currently we’ve decided to permanently replaced Perth with Brisbane and we’ve deployed a Dedicated server there which is here to stay, online and working.
      While both Argentina and CostaRica were offline for a period of time, that was only to rebuild and replace them with more reliable and faster servers. If you give it another try I’m sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the speed increase and the stability and reliability of the servers.

      We have servers in 69 countries, it is nearly inevitable not to have some which are offline at some point. I can confirm that work on all of our infra structure in South/Central America is complete and Chile, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, Mexico ) use the most reputable server providers and are all online and working. To remedy a frequent disconnection I advise you try changing the “Protocol:” of the connection to TCP, if speed performance isn’t decreased by that action you should be able to enjoy a steady connection.

      2) If you could post a ticket number where your inquiries about the servers were ignored I’ll make sure to scrutinise our support team’s ways. Customer satisfaction is paramount and there will be strict action taken upon confirmation of your ticket.

      3) It is on our agenda to replace the forum with a different platform where order of posts is easier to navigate and communication is more interactive. We do reply to all requests and posts on the forum.

      About our software, in the next 30 days there will be a significant re-design of our Windows and Mac apps that will restructure the current features and add new ones. The new design will be more user friendly while the settings panels will allow the advanced users deeper level of control. New VPN protocol, obfuscation and ad-blocking are some of the notable new features that will be introduced.

      If your membership has expired by then, please do mention this comment in your review and we’ll give you a free account for a month to try out the new changes.

  2. Signed up today. Initial feeling is that speed is good. But current version software (1.0.56.286) has a huge bug: The VPN keeps resetting my Windows DNS settings to “Obtain DNS server address automatically” after I have purposely set it to “Use the following DNS server addresses”. I believe it’s doing this every time I disconnect from the VPN.

    I need to be able to maintain my manual DNS settings whenever I’m not connected to the VPN. This bug means that my manual settings are constantly being overridden back to my ISP’s DNS settings. I had a chat online with Zack who acknowledged they know about this issue and that a new release should fix it “in the next few weeks”.

    I’m not prepared to wait that long – I will give it 6 days, since the refund period offered is within 7 days. If not fixed by then, I’ll try another VPN. (I would also be prepared to try a previous version of the software, in the hope that this bug did not previously exist. Zack said he would try to email one to me).

    On the plus side, while connected to the VPN and using their own DNS servers, the ad blocking function seems to work well. Although many other users are complaining on their forum at https://vpnarea.com/forum/thread/vpnarea-no-logs-dns-servers/ (since July 2017) that when performing an extended test on dnsleaktest, a plethora of servers are found, none of which appear to be owned by VPNarea. This is of course a huge concern – and despite the posts being several months old, no-one from VPNarea has responded to this concern.

    1. Hi Meeko,

      I’ll just note that as long as the DNS requests are proxied through VPNArea’s servers, this is not a reason for major concern, as the DNS servers performing the DNS translation will not see who made the DNS request.

    2. Thanks Douglas. I think I’ve got around the issue anyway, by disabling the Anti-DNS Leak protection option. Instead, I’ve manually my Windows DNS settings to Google DNS (same as I would normally do without the VPN) and VPNarea now seems to leave my manual settings alone.

      I no longer have the benefit of the ad blocking that VPNarea’s DNS also provides, but I can use AdGuard Chrome extension instead. Using Google DNS, there’s also no lingering doubt about whether or not VPNarea’s DNS requests are proxied or not.

      Please let me know if you have any concerns about this methodology?

      1. Hi Meeko,

        Hmm. But that means you are telling Google every website you visit. Doesn’t that rather counter the point of using a VPN in the first place?

    3. Yes, I see. How about OpenDNS instead of Google DNS – less of a risk?

      Also with regard to your first reply, can we be really certain that all DNS requests are actually proxied through VPNArea’s servers?

      1. Hi Meeko,

        Well, OpenDNS also logs pretty much everything. I would suggest non-profit, decentralized, open, uncensored and democratic OpenNIC if you really must use a third party DNS resolver. But really – as long as VPNArea is proxying its DNS requests (I’m pretty sure it does, but why not ask?), then then I thin you are better off of using VPNArea…

    4. Thanks Douglas – I’ll give OpenNIC a try then.

      The reason I can’t use VPNarea’s DNS is because of the bug in their Chameleon software, which affects you whenever you are *not* using the VPN. Granted, the VPN is likely to be used 99% of the time; but it’s not acceptable that the software resets your Windows DNS settings to “automatic” every time the VPN disconnects.

      Users need to be able to *manually* set their preferred DNS settings – and be confident that they will revert to those preferred settings each time the VPN disconnects or just isn’t being used for whatever reason.

      To explain why: In my case, the bug means that whenever I’m not using the VPN, my DNS automatically reverts to my ISP’s DNS, because my ISP has seen fit to hard-code it into the Netgear modem/router that they supplied – it cannot be over-ridden due to the ISP’s custom firmware. I’m not happy about this, in light of Australia’s draconian meta-data retention policy, so I need to be able to manually set the DNS on my Windows devices to something of my choosing.

      I can’t program VPNarea’s DNS servers in manually, since they don’t work while you aren’t connected to the VPN, so it results in no internet at all. This is the reason why the only compromise I can fathom is to *not* use VPNarea’s ‘Anti-DNS leak’ option, because in avoiding it, VPNarea leaves my manual DNS settings intact whether I’m on of off the VPN.

      With their 7-day money-back guarantee, I have a few days to go before I need to decide whether I’m prepared to trust my DNS privacy to OpenNIC until this bug is hopefully rectified (they told me that a new release should fix it “in the next few weeks”, but I don’t trust such non-specific timeframes) or ditch VPNarea for another provider.

      I’m happy with the VPN otherwise, but this bug with the software could be a dealbreaker.

      1. Hi Meeko,

        Ah. That makes perfect sense. An alternative might to be just quickly reset your DNS settings to point to an OpenNIC server whenever you aren’t using the VPN using DNS Jumper app.

    5. You are a font of knowledge, thanks, I’ll look into that 🙂

      Meantime, I’ve just noticed another bug in the Chameleon software. No idea whether this has been reported before…

      Whenever I have Anti-DNS Leak *disabled*, regardless of whether Windows DNS settings are set to manual or automatic, things work as expected as long as *not* connected to the VPN.

      But… when the VPN connects, the Chameleon software always shows (under “Current DNS”) that it’s added a *3rd* DNS setting, and this is always 208.67.220.220 (OpenDNS)!
      dnsleaktest.com confirms that “OpenDNS, LLC” is indeed being used (as well as others).
      — This 3rd DNS setting isn’t added while Anti-DNS Leak is enabled —

      What this means is that even if I use OpenNIC, whilever the VPN is connected but the Anti-DNS Leak is disabled, DNS requests still get routed through OpenDNS.

      I think this is a huge issue, so I would appreciate if some other users would kindly test this as well.

      1. Hi Meeko,

        Hmm. That would count as a DNS leak, but if this only happens when DNS leak protection is disabled then I’m not sure it can be held a against a provider. Hopefully , using DNS Jumper will solve your problem.

    6. DNSjumper is a nifty utility, and I’ve programmed it so that on each reboot it connects to OpenNIC DNS servers (they aren’t in the default list, so I had to add them).

      I’ve noticed now that while using DNSjumper, VPNarea still reports a 3rd DNS being in use whenever Anti-DNS Leak is disabled, but instead of it being OpenDNS, it’s now my router’s address 192.168.0.1 – I assume this isn’t dangerous?

      Since I’ve only signed to VPNarea for a month to test the waters, thanks to your help I think I’ll at least see out the month before making a decision whether to renew or try another provider, rather than asking for a refund.

      But I am concerned that they are forcing OpenDNS on users who choose to disable Anti-DNS Leak. Sure, it’s not a ‘leak’ as such, but as this appears to have been built in intentionally, it’s kinda worse, because a) I can’t fathom any reason for it, and b) it’s dangerous due to the privacy concern. (Granted, I wouldn’t even have known that OpenDNS keeps logs until our discussion here – thanks for your assistance and education!)

      1. Hi Meeko,

        I am glad to have been of some help :). Indeed, showing you router’s address in the client is not “dangerous”. I’ll just say that in my view, VPNArea’s responsibility to ensure all DNS requests are handled privately ends when you disable its DNS protection feature.

    7. Agreed, but this now gets us right back to their acknowledged bug reported in my first post, which is that whenever the VPN disconnects, it wipes your previous manual DNS settings and sets them back to ‘automatic’ which in my case = my Australian ISP’s DNS = my metadata is collected and stored for two years.

      I’d suggest that VPNarea’s responsibility also extends to *not* making my computer less secure than it was before I started using their service! DNS Jumper will help me to control this manually.

      Complicating the matter is that I don’t actually think it happens every time, but anyway, the main thing is they have acknowledged the bug and said it should be fixed “in the next few weeks”. I don’t think this a good enough timeframe, but I’ll see out the month’s subscription and hope for the best.

      Also more recently, been trying out the option to start the VPN and connect automatically when Windows starts, and so far this has not worked even once. Sometimes when Windows loads, I even find that my network connection is in ‘disabled’ state. Guess I’ll have to have another tech support chat with them about that.

      1. Hi Meeko,

        That is a fair point, and it’s good see that VPN Area plans to fix the issue. Hmm, do that. This is a pretty basic feature, I I’m surprised it doesn’t work for you.

    8. I got to the bottom of the issue with the VPN having an apoplexy every time Windows starts: it would either throw up endless continual error popups, filling the screen until force-closed via Task Manager; or it could not connect because for some reason my NIC had been forced into the disabled state; or it simply could not connect because it couldn’t find any of its servers.

      All of these issues were due to me shutting down the PC without first manually exiting from the Chameleon software completely. It’s an annoying issue, because simply disconnecting from the VPN manually wasn’t sufficient – I actually needed to exit the VPN software completely before every shutdown.

      Having got into that habit, I had no further issues with the VPN reconnecting automatically on reboot, apart from the equally annoying Admin privileges popup that you need to accept every time.

      In this forum on July 11th 2017, Dimitry from VPNArea promised a resolution to the Administrator privilege issue “within 72 hours”. It has now been around 55 times as long as he promised, yet there is still no new version which resolves that issue!

      There has also been no resolution to the DNS issue we discussed at length above, which I was told by tech support would be fixed “in the next few weeks”. So I have the feeling that development on this VPN seems to have stalled.

      On the plus side, I had no (major) speed issues that couldn’t be resolved by switching servers, so for Australian users this seems to be quite a good VPN in that regard.

      However due to the lack of attention to the other issues, I’m not going to renew my subscription, and will give another VPN a shot for the next month. Haven’t yet decided which one…

    9. Thanks Douglas for pointing this out.

      @Meeko, we did respond in the July thread in August:
      ——————————————————
      VPNArea Team 2 0 on August 2, 2017
      Hi Guys,

      as pointed by cryolithe, since there is no DNS leak there is nothing to worry about. We use a number of no-logs DNS servers from OpenNIC: https://servers.opennicproject.org

      When you contact our own DNS servers they forward the request themselves to the OpenNIC dns servers, that is why you see various DNS replies, as we have a list of OpenNIC servers which we use to handle the requests.

      However the OpenNIC DNS servers do not see your IP address because they are being contacted by our own DNS servers, which keep no logs.

      What you seeing is normal and everything works as intended.
      ——-
      I also want to mention that we have 2 sets of DNS servers (available in “DNS” section in Members Area, one set which is no-logs and the other set which is no-logs but also provides ad-blocking.

      We’re also working on adding extra functionality to those ad-blocking servers to prevent access to known malicious web site, so in a way to prevent malware and ransomware from being downloaded in the first place.

      Thank you for being our customer, any criticism is always welcome and we always listen to it. Our support team is instructed to relay all feedback to management.

    Never got used to internet purchases and was never able to make one on my own, without the help of a family member. Yesterday I had to spend like 2 hours on chat in order to get my payment sorted. This is the first time I see a chat representative that is so patient with a completely dyslexic person like me. Although the price could go a bit low, I am happy with the overall discount I’ve received for a year subscriptions.

    At least I can finally enjoy my sports channels and again thank so much to that patient guy behind the chat ( forgot his name ) for the patience.

    After trying two other VPN providers, I can say I’m finally satisfied with the quality of service and the good speed this company provides. I’ve experienced no issues whatsoever since I signed up, and the Mac software is friendly and functional.

  3. “Run as Administrator”??? As Luke justly pointed out with PIA “No one should require having admin privileges, because if you are hacked the consequences of the hack can be much more severe if you are an admin. You should always run as a standard user. Run specific apps in admin mode if you need them for that app. But that’s not what PIA requires. You trade off getting some security protection with PIA versus additional 24/7 security concerns running in admin mode. You bring that to their attention and they don’t understand, which means they don’t understand security so you should use it.”

    Is there a work around?

    1. Hi Jimmy,

      I agree that no VPN app should need admin privileges to run. You will need to ask VPNArea about whether this is actually necessary.

      1. Hi Jimmy,

        Thanks for alerting to this. I have passed the information on to Katrina, who will update the review in the next couple of days.

    2. Hi Douglas, Jimmy,

      It wasn’t until roughly 6 months ago that OpenVPN for the first time released a windows version which does not require running OpenVPN as administrator. Prior to that for the last 16 years All VPN providers, with no exceptions, were running their Windows openvpn based apps as administrator. Many still do.

      Currently a quick research shows that PIA, IPVanish, NordVPN Windows apps are also ran as administrator, like ours.
      Buffered live chat person suggested we run their app as Administrator too.

      We and others still require administrator privileges in order for features such as Killswitch to remain effective.

      However we’re already working on a new version that will allow users to run the app as a regular user by default and in case there is a functionality that does require Administrator privileges and we can’t find a workaround for it, the user will have the option to restart the app with such privileges. We expect the new version to be ready within 72 hours.

      ———–
      PIA PrivateInternetAccess May 17, 2017:
      https://helpdesk.privateinternetaccess.com/hc/en-us/articles/232328188-Why-Do-I-Need-To-Run-As-Administrator-
      Also running as administrator
      ——–
      IPVanish May 15 2017: https://support.ipvanish.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2806008-ipvanish-for-windows-guide?_ga=2.48818533.2129394659.1499812934-821926976.1499812934
      Also running as administrator
      ——–
      https://nordvpn.com/tutorials/windows-10/application/
      Also running as administrator
      ——–
      Buffered LiveChat 11 Jul 2017:
      “Zach: Yes we would recommend it to use Buffered on administrator privileges”
      ——–

      1. Hi Dmitry,

        Thanks for that input. I install new (Open)VPN clients all the time, and never need to grant admin privileges for them. I grant, however, that it may be that I have allowed an OpenVPN app admin privileges at some time in the past, and that may persist through every other other OpenVPN app that I use. I will remove most of the warnings from this review, but given that OpenVPN now does not require Admin privileges to run, we will flag this issue up in future reviews whenever we encounter it.

    3. Hi Dimitry,
      I’m using Chameleon v1.0.56.286 and I’m curious as to why it still requires admin privileges to run – it’s now 4 months after your last reply and I see from this thread that there was supposed to be an updated version released 4 months ago that no longer required this?

  4. Hi All
    I had a chat with Zack about their service but I want to use it on my Sony Android TV and not on the PC. Does anyone here have any experience with installing and sucessfully using this service for US Netflix on this type of TV?

    1. Hi Paul,

      I do not have personal experience of installing VPNArea on an Android TV, but can think of no reason its Android app won’t work just fine. The last time we checked, VPNArea worked with US Netflix, but I don’t know the current situation. VPNArea offers a 7-day money back guarantee, so why not take advantage of that to test that the service woks with your TV and Netflix?

    Spent several hours today with live chat (i.e., Jean) to try and resolve some connection problems with VPNArea as I could not connect to any US locations (?) only European ones like Austria, etc, and they had to give me another password to try and connect although it did no better than the original password I had selected. Again, for Mac computer users it looks like many VPN’s present connection problems and VPNArea is just not going work. Also, kept losing the chat window due to some sort of connection drop out and this made for a very disappointing trial run with this VPN. Will be looking for something else.

    I’m not the most computer literate person, I’ve had issues setting up and again when I renewed my subscription, and every time the online assistance was magnificent!!! Very patient, friendly, and efficient, love the service! Thank you!

  5. I sent a question about IPv6 to VPNArea support and they replied as below. Is their answer credible or is there cause for concern or some loss of functionality? I would appreciate your input on this.

    I said:
    “The last two things [my VPNArea] software says before it connects is: ‘Disable IPv6’ and ‘IPv6 disabled.’ It’s my understanding that if there is an IPv6 connection problem, that disabling it is an undesirable solution. Perhaps you can explain what is happening here.”

    They replied:
    “The IPv6 options are just another layer of security, which we implement in our tunnel connectio. When you connect to a VPN network, not all your connections might be bound to such a network. Some leaks could still happen, and one of them affects IPv6.

    “Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) is the latest version of the Internet Protocol (IP), the communications protocol that provides an identification and location system for computers on networks and routes traffic from the Internet, but it’s not that famous yet.

    “For that particular reason we have implemented those two features, in order to ensure that the connection is protected with another type of encryption layer. “

    1. Hi Bob,

      Please check out this article for a full explanation of what is going on here. In an ideal world, IPv6 would be properly firewalled by the VPN software in order to prevent IPv6 DNS leaks. In fact, the new “official” open source OpenVPN app (2.4.1) does just this. Almost every VPN provider, however, simply disables IPv6 with its software. Although this is definitely a fudge, its a fudge that works. IPv6 is the future of DNS, but it is not really needed at the present time (my ISP does not even support IPv6 in the first place!). In fact, I generally recommend disabling iPv6 in order to ensure that no IPv6 DNS leaks are possible.

    I just started using this like a few days ago and it’s really cool. This is a wonderful VPN company and the VPN works great!!! I have been chatting with Zack for a few issues here and there and the support is VERY good! Zack has been very helpful and very pleasant to deal with and also I’m VERY sure that anyone else here for support will be pleasant to deal with to. Thank you so much, this is a great company and I would highly recommend this to anyone! 5+++ Stars

    I have been using VPNArea for a few months now.
    Have also trialled some alternatives (VPNExpress, ViprVPN).
    Others were OK, but dont match VPNArea for ease of use, speed and control.
    I also can also say from first hand experience that their customer service is very prompt and helpful.
    Had an issue with the connecting to the right server on startup, I was very pleased with the the support they provided!
    5 stars from me!

  6. So I went with VPNArea for its location and anonymity, it’s easy implementation and access from various devices. I have had some bad experience I would like to point out to those reviewing VPNs.
    1. The servers that they run are slow. If you run their speed test, most of their DNS servers are ping above 200ms. Bandwidth is compromised considerably. You have to use Google’s 8.8.8.8 DNS (OpenDNS) which your are forced to use to make website’s work. That in turn will slow your connection. I went from 30Mbs to 12Mbs.
    2. Now I get errors: Oops! Incorrect Username/Password (or too many devices connected). Please verify
    This is occurring more frequently and I only have 2 devices.

    One should reconsider them as top 5

    1. Hi Natureboy,

      1. As you can see from the speedtests above we got better results that ther (although I admit that the US result is very poor). Katrina didn’t detect any DNS leaks, though, so you shouldn’t have had to use Google’s servers!
      2. Have you contacted VPNArea’s support staff about this issue? I have always found then to be very accommodating.

    2. Hi Natureboy,

      1. DNS servers don’t slow your download speed, they’re just used to turn a hostname into an IP address, therefor a DNS server is not to be blamed for your speed decrease.
      We do not force you to use Google’s DNS, you can use any DNS servers you wish.

      We understand that experiencing a slow speed can be frustrating but it’s not our servers at fault. It’s likely the circumstances of your network or VPN setup that’s causing it and if you contact support or follow the improve-speed tips in your email you should be able to achieve optimal speed.

      Nearly all of our servers have 1Gbp/s or more at hand and we routinely perform speed tests to ensure that the speed is as fast or faster than any other VPN provider out there.

      2. The “incorrect username/password” error is not something we caused you to experience, it’s something you did that caused it and if you contact support team they’ll be happy to help you find out why you’re getting that error.

  7. Switched two months ago as my previous provider had too many disconnects. I’m glad I made the switch, my connections have been incredibly stable and fast (I prefer TCP protocol for this). Mac software is easy to navigate and Android app is also idiot proof. Plenty of servers. Netflix unblocked. I’ve no qualms recommending these guys on to friends and family.

    Absolutely amazing.

    I’ve struggled with the setup at a start, but it was due to my lack of IT knowledge. Then I saw the chat button. It was amazing how fast and responsive the technical support was and in just a matter of couple of minutes, they have guided me through the setup and configuration. It was so easy to understand it, for someone with zero knowledge, like myself. Will recommend it further to my friends as well. And not to forget, that I could finally stream Netflix, which was my main reason for signing up.

  8. I signed up for VPNArea today, only to find out that they do not allow SSH connections (at least on port 22). It might be possible to get those connections through getting a dedicated IP or some other extra setup, but that’s quite unfortunate. Just though I’d leave a reply here, so let others know.

    Is not allowing SSH/port 22 a common thing with VPNs?

    1. Hi VPN Noob,

      Thanks for flagging this up. Many (but by no means all) VPN services offer port forwarding (for example AirVPN) . If you have a specific need, it is always best to check that it is supported before signing up for a service. I’ll just note that VPN Area offers a 7-day money back guarantee, which I am sure it will be happy to honor for you.

      1. Thank you for responding, Douglas! I didn’t know that VPNs would block ports like this, otherwise I definitely would have checked. I’ll definitely be checking that when looking at other VPNs!

        I have a couple of other questions, if you don’t mind:

        1.) I’m specifically looking for VPNs outside of the USA (preferably outside the Five Eyes), like VPNArea. These VPNs usually offer servers inside those countries. Is using those servers any different from signing up for a Five Eyes VPN to begin with? It seems like using them would be counter-productive.

        2.) More of a general question, I’m wondering if you can help point me to other VPN choices. I’ve researched many, but can’t find any that meet all my criteria. I thought VPNArea was the one, but the port 22 business is an issue. (They say I can buy a dedicated IP to get the port unblocked, but I don’t want to do that.) My requirements are: no logs, at least 5 simultaneous connections allowed, good speeds, at least 7 days to get a refund, ssh/port 22 allowed, and preferably not five eyes. VPNArea has all but port 22. NordVPN doesn’t have good speed. AirVPN and ExpressVPN only allows 3 connections. IPVanish and ExpressVPN are US-based.

        1. Hi VPN Noob,

          Well, VPNs don’t “block ports” as such – its just that with strong authentication it should be impossible to exploit any open ports they use.

          1. Using a server inside a FVEY country is much less of a threat than using a VPN service which is based in one. Any half-decent VPN provider will full-disk encrypt all data on its servers, and the only way to access this data would be to pressure the VPN company itslef – which can a) be hard if the company is outside FVEY influence, and b) of limited use anyway if no logs are kept. With regards to logs kept by the server provider and the possibility of monitoring traffic as it enters and exits the server, please see 5 Best No Logs VPNs.

          2. I’ll just note that ExpressVPN has moved all its operations away from the US, and is now based in the British Virgin Islands (although I do not consider the BVI to be ideal either). Hmm. TBH, I can’t think of a service that meets all the criteria you state. You can get decent speeds from NordVPN, but it does take some trial and error (which is not ideal, I know). AirVPN meets most of your requirements, but as you point out, it only permits three simultaneous connections (five simultaneous connections is quite generous, and there are only a few services out there that offer this). A six-month subscription with AirVPN works out at just €5 per month, which is half the price of some other services. So you could just purchase two subscriptions with it to get six simultaneous connections…

          1. Thanks, again, for the reply! The only reason I was looking to get away from VPNArea was the port 22 issue, but after contacting their support, they can allow port 22 to a dedicated IP on a private server. This costs a little more money, but I think still ends up being less (in total) than other VPN services are (like Buffered). Also, there’s an added benefit of basically having a server all to myself (less load) but still being able to use the public servers if desired. Since doing this should fix the port 22 issue, which is the only issue I really have with VPNArea right now, I’ve decided to stick it out with them. (Unless I’m wrong and the dedicated IP/private are ridiculously expensive.) After all, VPNArea is on your “best vpns”, “best logless vpns”, and “best simultaneous connection vpns” lists. I think it’s the only one on all three.

            For what it’s worth, their support backed up your claim about using VPN servers in FVEY countries. They said all of their servers are treated the same no matter the country the server is in, so using one of their servers that’s in a FVEY country isn’t any worse than using any other servers. Very good to know.

            Thanks again!

    2. Hi VPN Noob,

      We do offer enabling port 22 for particular IPs that you will need, just let our support team know your username, which IPs you need 22 allowed for and on which servers via Support Ticket and we’ll arrange it for you.

      It’s not open by default to all IP addresses as it’s common practice for blackhat hackers to use VPN service for brute force attacks on port 22, which would result in the server being blocked for all VPN users.

  9. I see that Area VPN (along with most other VPNs) have either pre-configured routers or configuration files for routers. Using one of these with AreaVPN, is it easy to set up a policy on my router that makes it so that by default all network traffic get routed through the VPN, but allows for exceptions for certain ports/applications?

    I would like a configuration that allows me to play online games that require low-latency connections without having to manually enable/disable something in the VPS software each time. I read a review saying that this was a feature of NordVPS, but it sounded like it might be something that other VPN services that offer a router can do as well.

      1. Hi Grim Echo,

        – PureVPN (and, apparently, its white label derivatives such as Ivacy – please see this discussion) is the only VPN company to offer split-tunneling. Unfortunatly, PureVPN is an otherwise terrible service.

        – However, the inverse split-tunneling technique may suit your needs. Alternatively, the Viscosity VPN client can be used with any OpenVPN connection, and supports split-tunneling (for specific websites and web addresses, not local programs).

    Friendly, knowledgeable people man the help desk, though response maybe delayed depending on your geography. Contrary to the review, L2TP is not supported… at all. Your get either OpenVPN — terrific security — or PPTP — essentially no security. The iOS client (by way of the OpenVPN client) worked well. The Windows client… not so much. It does work on Windows, just not as smoothly — nothing that you cannot work around, but disappointing, nonetheless. May be worth another look in a year or so.

    1. Hi Jack,

      Thanks for the helpful feedback. I contacted VPNArea and received this response:

      “Unfortunately no, the only protocol which we support is openvpn, with an exception of pptp on some of our servers”

      So you are correct. I will correct the information in the review straightaway.

  10. Worst vpn that i have ever used in my life. I already ask for my refund because i can’t connect using udp because disconnect after a couple of min and tcp is very slow for me.
    Waiting for my refund …

    1. Danilo, did you contact support? I assure you that whatever the issue is with UDP it can be sorted with help from our experts in the support team. Normally the software works smoothly for nearly everyone, now and again there could be an issue due to your unique network circumstances, but this is why we have support team to help you in such cases.

    Always found VPNArea to be 100% reliable and easy to use (even for a numbskull like me!

  11. high quality VPN! Nétflix Uk and USA works, fast torrent servers even in US and Canada; support is not useless like PureVPN, they actually know stuff and great software for win and android. Keep up the good work Vpnarea, my first year is soon over i’ll be renewing!!!

  12. I posted a very relevant comment here regarding the so-called “security” of VPNs based in Switzerland. This article is false and misleading. Switzerland is not at all safe, and Bulgaria has nothing to do with the data of the company, it is only the “legal” location for litigation, taxes, etc.
    Why are you censoring comments that include important information that affects peoples’ privacy and security?
    FWIW, I took screenshots of my comments and can post them elsewhere (reddit) if you guys don’t want to publish relevant information that affects your readers, oh well.
    BTW, all of this is clearly written in the Terms of Agreement, but it doesn’t look like the author looked into that very carefully.

    1. Hi Chuck,

      We have not censored your comment. I have forwarded it to Katrina, and asked her to do some more research in order to formulate an appropriate response. As you observe, Switzerland has passed severe new surveillance laws. To the best of my knowledge, however, it is not yet clear how (or whether) these apply to VPNs.

      Hopefully Katrina will be able to uncover this information, but as VPNs are often something of a grey area, hard facts about how data retention laws apply to them can be difficult to find (precisely because their position has not been clarified by law). If in doubt, though, it is most certainly best to assume the worst.

    2. Hi Chuck,

      To repeat what Douglas said, we did not censor your comment, we were just doing additional research to see if we could find any more information on how Swiss data retention laws affect VPNs (if at all, given that they are a gray area, as Douglas already pointed out). I failed to find any concrete answers, but will update the article as more information comes to light. In the meantime, I have updated the article to flag the potential security issues you raised that come with VPNArea being hosted in Switzerland.

      1. FWIW, VPNArea’s FAQ states that,

        “Our hosting is based in Switzerland. Our company is registered in Bulgaria. Since we’re not an internet provider we do not fall under the data-retention laws in the country where the company is registered. Therefor we do not keep logs of your activity.”

        Katrina has added this info to the article.

        1. Thanks for looking into the matter Douglas and Katrina. I guess it is indeed a gray area, although Switzerland does not appear to be a safe country for privacy (at all). Does anybody speak Swiss Deutsch and want to start reading through the original laws/regulations? (rhetorical question, of course 🙂

    3. Hi @Chuck,

      Please note that we have 0-logging policy which means that NONE of your data or activity on our VPN servers will be logged and stored the servers we have in Switzerland.

      Only the web site, emails and authentication database are hosted in Switzerland, but note that WE DO NOT require Personal Details for signing up. Name and Location are clearly marked as optional to provide during signup, so even though you’re not a fan of Swiss privacy there isn’t much that we have on those servers in Switzerland so I don’t think there is a reason to worry about our users privacy.

      No logs. No personal details required for sign-up. Emails and web site data hosted in Switzerland. Bitcoin accepted. Legal jurisdiction Bulgaria. Pristine record of keeping users privacy since beginning of business in 2013… This amounts to a pretty good privacy setup to me and not “misleading” at all.

      1. Sounds good Dimitry. After doing some more research, I’m planning on giving you guys a try after ExpressVPN subscription runs out (ExpressVPN sucks).

  13. Hi Katrina, did you bother reading their Terms of Agreement before writing this review? They are based in Switzerland (physically) and are under Swiss data retention laws. This is not a good thing at all, as other writers on this website have already pointed out. Only “legally” are they a Bulgarian company, but that doesn’t matter for privacy, because all data is under Swiss law, (aka data retention laws). Please look into this. Advocating that Switzerland is somehow good for privacy is false and misleading to everyone reading this.
    YOUR QUOTE: “This makes for a killer combination, as Bulgaria does not apply the EU Data Retention Directive (DRD), and Switzerland is famed for its data protection laws.”

  14. I’ve tried many VPN services before. This is by far the best experience I have had so far. Their software works very well (I’ve used it on Windows and Android). Their servers are fast and located and many countries.
    The author of this article mentions ChromeOS support but I have yet to find any information on how to setup my Chromebook. To me this is the only CON!

    VPN Area – Poor Client support, “7 Day Money back” is a waste of time. They do not reply to your emails or requests. No option to cancel in members area.
    Now for service: Very poor members area, they use native openvpn app for ios. they do not support socks5 proxy, they do not support openelec vpn.

    1. You requested a refund on 2nd of December and by 5th of December your refund was completed. Therefor your statement is not true regarding our money back guarantee.

      All that is required to cancel with us is to send your username to refund@vpnarea.com and it’s explained in the Refund Policy to which you have access before you sign-up. We can confirm you’ve received your refund successfully.

      We have our own iOS App which works in conjunction with native OpenVPN Connect, that is how ALL VPN companies do it, in order to provide users with access to the best VPN protocol OpenVPN. Thanks to our special iOS VPNArea app It is very easy to configure out service in iOS it takes less than 3 minutes if you follow our guide.

      Due to limitations by Apple until few months ago it was not possible to create independent OpenVPN app that uses OpenVPN protocol. This recently changed but only on theory, it still remains to be seen if an actual OpenVPN app can be developed by any VPN company.

      We’re not a Proxy service, we’re a VPN service, that is why we don’t offer Socks5 proxy, there is also little to no demand for it by users, after all a socks5 proxy can be hazardous for user’s privacy.
      We don’t have openelec support but it’s on our agenda to provide it in the future, thank you for the feedback.

    I’ve been with VPNArea for about a year and a half now. Their service is really worth the pricing. They’ve upgraded servers and expanded since I’ve been with them. I am a South African user and can highly recommend them to any other SA user. FPB is going to hit hard soon due to ANC’s internet bill, getting the right provider now will save you from trouble and headaches down the road. The only negatives I have is that their skype support use to be active a lot. A year later, and they are barely on. Not sure what changed internally.

    As for speed, I have 100/50 (94/49 in reality) connection (telkom backbone). When using the Cape Town server, it seems to be speed capped at 37/37. Where as using the Joburg 1Gb/s, I get 87/49 (The change is minimal) I’m hoping that Cape Town gets upgraded to 1Gb/s. They are bringing out another 1Gb/s Joburg server. There are quite a number of SA users already.

  15. John according to our records you were successfully refunded within 2 days of your request.
    We hope that your doubts were put to rest since you’ve received your refund.

    We want to also clarify to the people reading that the reason for you to request a refund according to you was that a member of your family bought the account without your permission and not because you did not like the service.

    1. Hi Dimitri

      I have been waiting for my refund for two weeks. Why do I have to resort to this posting messages like this to get my my money back. And why are your staff no longer responding on my email request for a refund. I was first told 48 hours and then another 48 hours and then it was on the way, its been two weeks

      1. Daniel, as per our email correspondence we have proof that we’ve refunded you over PayPal and we’ve showed you the screenshot from our PayPal account that your refund has been completed. You confirmed that your PayPal indicates that we’ve refunded you successfully.

        You also confirmed that your bank showed your refund from Paypal as “pending” in your bank account. Then suddenly you accused us that we “cancelled” your bank’s refund procedure, something which we’re physically unable to do. This is an issue you must take up with your bank and the payment method you’ve chosen (PayPal) and we’ve expressed our readiness to cooperate should PayPal need any information from us, but it is highly unlikely they will since we’ve refunded you and it shows clearly on PayPal that we did.

  16. This web side is a scam. I tried to cancel my order 5 min after I bought it. Service is not what you order. I sent 5 emails to the company to cancel my order. There is NO way to contact anyone except for email. They will not email you back. Beware of this company. SCAM.

    1. Hi John,

      I can only say that my experience differs. I have found VPNArea to have one of the friendliest and most helpful support teams I have dealt with.

    2. According to our records you’ve been refunded within 2 days of requesting the refund.

      Also your statement that the “service is not what you order” seem false since you emailed us to say: “My daughter picked up this account without my permission.” which indicates that you did not mean to order this service at all.

      We understand that you may have had less than pristine experience with other companies when requesting refunds and this may have prompted this abrupt and exaggerate comment about our services.

      We assume that you’ve received the refund successfully and your doubts are put to rest now since we have not heard from you regarding our follow up on the refund.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Möchten Sie ein Stern zu deinem Kommentar hinzufügen? Klick hier
Preis
Funktionen
Zuverlässigkeit
Tempo
Kundenservice

Exclusive Offer
SAVE 77% TODAY
LIMITED TIME OFFER
Get NordVPN for only
$2.75/month