Review

NordVPN Review – 2017


The NordVPN review found NordVPN's reputation and effectiveness undiminished in the face the recent Panama Leaks, as this Panamanian provider continues its strict logless policies and undoubtedly strong encryption.
Visit NordVPN
Review of: NordVPN
VPN by :
NordVPN
Version:
ProVPN
Price:
5.75

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On February 17, 2017
Last modified:March 7, 2017

Summary:

Our latest NordVPN review found the same top tier service with hefty encryption and true logless policies, and welcome tweaks. Read on to find out more.

NordVPN is a no-logs VPN provider based in Panama. This alone makes it one of the best VPN choices available for privacy fanatics. As we shall see in this full NordVPN review, it is also a very fully-featured service. IPv6 leaks are a major issue, however, and support was a massive fail when I needed it. It also seems to be rather over-subscribed, which leads to performance issues. However, these problems are not crippling, and there is still much to recommend the service.

  • ProsPROS
  • No logs
  • Based in Panama (great for privacy)
  • Six simultaneous connections
  • Servers in 58 countries
  • P2P: yes
  • ConsCONS
  • IPv6 leaks
  • Terrible support
  • Highly variable performance

Visit NordVPN »

Pricing and Plans

NordVPN has just the one plan. It costs $11.95 per month if paid monthly, with discounts available for bulk time purchases. If purchased annually, for example, the price drops to a very reasonable $5.75 per month.

NordVPN Review pricing

A three-day free trial is available, which does not require you to provide any payment details. NordVPN also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.

NordVPN accepts payment via credit/debit card, or PayPal. It also accepts bitcoin, which allows for potentially anonymous payment. However, as always, please remember that NordVPN will know your true IP address, regardless.

Additional payment methods are available through NordVPN’s payment partner, Paymentwall.

Features

NordVPN is based in Panama. All customers enjoy the following features:

  • Six simultaneous connections
  • Servers in 58 countries
  • Choice of IKEv2, OpenVPN, PPTP, L2TP, and IPSec VPN protocols
  • P2P: yes
  • Dedicated IP available on request
  • Smart DNS service
  • Double VPN
  • Tor over VPN
  • Web proxy and web proxy extension for Chrome (free)
  • Socks5 proxies
  • VPN access for China via obfsproxy
  • DNS servers (useful if manually configuring a secure VPN connection)

As always, I recommend using the OpenVPN protocol where possible (although IKEv2 is also good).

Although six devices can be connected to the service at once, if you connect devices to the same server, you must choose different protocols for the VPN connections. TCP and UDP are counted as different protocols. So you can connect one device to TCP and another to UDP.

That means that a total of four devices can be connected to a server at once – through L2TP, PPTP, OpenVPN TCP and OpenVPN UDP. If you have two more devices at home, you can connect them to another server with any two protocols.

Personally, I do not consider this to be a major limitation, and permitting six simultaneous devices is generous.

The Socks5 proxy is particularly useful to downloaders who only wish to proxy their torrent clients, or double-proxy with a VPN for extra protection!

Smart DNS (“Smart Play”)

Smart DNS is a technology that enables you to geo-spoof by resolving your DNS requests at a specified location. This makes it ideal for streaming geo-blocked content.

According to NordVPN, users can access over 150 streaming services using NordVPN SmartPlay. These include Hulu, Amazon Prime, ABC Go, Zattoo, Cartoon Network, Shudder, WeTV.com, Telemundo, VH1, Vevo, TNT Drama, Sundance.tv, StarTrek, Spike, PBS, Slacker, NBC Sports, FoodNetwork, DramaFever, Discovery, Crackle, and many more.

NordVPN’s implementation of Smart DNS is rather unusual. For a start, it uses an encrypted proxy connection. I am not sure what advantage this brings over an unencrypted connection, though, as Smart DNS is not really about security or privacy.

For a second, it requires no additional configuration. It runs inside all NordVPN’s apps, and when connected to a VPN server, detects whether the streaming service requires such a connection first. It then routes you accordingly, if such a bypass is needed.

In practice, this meant that I could watch US Netflix even when connected to a non-US server. However, this did not work for BBC iPlayer.

One downside of this setup is that you cannot configure NordVPN’s Smart DNS to run on devices that cannot run a VPN client, such as your smart TV, games console, and Roku.

Double VPN

This rather unusual feature offered by NordVPN allows you to “chain” VPN servers, so that your data is routed between two or more VPN servers as it travels between you and the internet.

Your PC/device -> VPN server 1 -> VPN server 2 -> Internet

NordVPN double-hop

As you can see, data is re-encrypted as it leaves each server

NordVPN double vpn

NordVPN now offers several double VPN combinations.

Such chaining can provide some security benefits, but will always result in a major loss of speed. As I argue in this article, I think the privacy/security benefits of “double-hop” VPN are rather limited. But I understand that this is not a view shared by everyone. For those who value the feature, NordVPN is one of only two providers I know of to offer it (the other being IVPN).

Tor over VPN

For a full discussion on the pros and cons of using Tor over VPN (or Onion over VPN as NordVPN terms it), please see here. In this configuration, you connect first to a NordVPN server, and then to the Tor network, before accessing the internet:

Your computer -> VPN -> Tor -> Internet

NordVPN achieves this using an OpenVPN configuration file, which transparently routes your data from the VPN tunnel to the Tor network. This means that your entire internet connection benefits from Tor over VPN.

This setup does offer some privacy and security advantages, but a similar effect can be achieved simply by using the Tor Browser while connected to the VPN. Crucially, such a setup is much more secure than the method offered by NordVPN.

Tor over VPN (however you do it) will seriously slow down your internet speeds, as you get the combined hit of using both the Tor network (which is very slow) and the VPN.

Visit NordVPN »

Privacy

NordVPN is based in Panama and promises to keep no logs at all:

NordVPN does not monitor, store or record logs for any VPN user. We do not store connection time stamps, used bandwidth, traffic logs, IP addresses.”

Panama has a completely uncensored internet and zero government surveillance. It is also comfortably outside the direct influence of the NSA and GCHQ.

In fact, the simple fact that this no-logs VPN provider is based in Panama makes it one of the best choices available for privacy fanatics.

Security

NordVPN uses the DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA encryption suite for its OpenVPN connections. This almost certainly means ordinary RSA-2048 key encryption and HMAC SHA1 authentication, which is just fine. Use of a Diffie-Hellman key exchange provides perfect forward secrecy.

OpenVPN Encryption
Cipher
AES-256
Data Auth
HMAC SHA1
Handshake
RSA-2028
Forward Secrecy
DHE
Logs & Legal
Connection
None
Traffic
None
Country
Panama

It is worth noting that NordVPN’s iOS app also uses an impressive level of encryption – IKE ciphers (phase1) to negotiate keys are AES-256-GCM for encryption, with SHA2-384 to ensure integrity, combined with perfect forward secrecy and 3072-bit Diffie-Hellmann keys.

Unusually, NordVPN’s Mac OS X client uses IKv2 with Cisco’s NGE (Next Generation Encryption) protocol, instead of OpenVPN.

For more information on VPN encryption terms, please see here.

Like most VPN providers, NordVPN uses shared .opvpn certificates (not unique ones). So connections are only secured with a username/password. This is less than ideal, but should be fine under most circumstances.

The NordVPN desktop client has a per-app kill switch and prevents IPv4 DNS leaks. It does not prevent IPv6 leaks, however (see below).

The Website

The NordVPN website has a fairly attractive blue and white theme, and is generally well presented. An FAQ outlines what most of NordVPN’s services actually do, but tends to shy away from too much technical detail.

NordVPN servers

NordVPN server list.

A nice feature of the website is a page displaying the status of NordVPN’s servers. This clearly shows which specialized servers are available, plus server load, and the VPN protocols supported by each server.

Support

24/7 customer support is provided via a ticket system (web form), Facebook, Twitter, or email. A live chat option is also available. When I contacted support via live chat, I usually received an instant or very quick response.

Unfortunately, the support I received when I had a serious issue can at best be described as unacceptable. The Windows client did not initially work for me. This was almost certainly a result of my reviewing many VPN programs as part of my job. So it was my system at fault, rather than a problem with NordVPN’s software.

But when I asked the support team for assistance, I was curtly told that it is a known problem and that I should manually configure P2TP instead! When I pressed, I was told that the problem does not affect all users, and that there were no plans to fix it!

It was only when BestVPN.com officially kicked up a fuss about this with NordVPN’s management, that any serious attempt was made to assist me. As I say, the problem turned out to be my VPN-overloaded system. There is nothing wrong with the NordVPN Windows client, but I am seriously unimpressed by NordVPN’s support.

A small knowledge-base, plus various setup tutorials, are also available. In addition, a regularly updated blog discusses both internet security issues in general, and NordVPN-specific topics.

The Process

Signing Up

Signing up for the service is a straightforward affair. A valid email address is required, but there is no reason this cannot be a disposable one. Unless paying in bitcoins, of course, NordVPN will know your payment details anyway.

Once signed up, you can download NordVPN’s software immediately, and will receive a confirmation email containing some useful links.

The NordVPN Windows Client

NordVPN Windows 2

The map is pretty. VPN newbies might find the Connection Wizard (bottom left) handy.

NordVPN Windows 3

As we have already seen, there are lots of servers to choose from. These include many specialized servers.

NordVPN Windows 4

There is a per-app kill switch. You can choose which apps will be shut down in the event of a VPN disconnection. This is very handy, but note that it is not a firewall-based kill switch. So if the NordVPN client itself crashes, the specified apps will not shut down and can continue to access the internet.

NordVPN Windows 5

DNS leak protection is enabled by default.

The NordVPN Windows client, then, is very fully-featured, looks good, and is easy to use.

Performance (Speed, DNS, WebRTC and IPv6 Tests)

All tests were performed using my Virgin UK 50 Mbps/3 Mbps fiber connection, using OpenVPN UDP.

NordVPN down 1

NordVPN up 1

The graphs show the highest, lowest and average speeds for each server and location. See our full speed test explanation for more detail.

Now… these results are very good. This comes as something of a surprise, as a problem that has always plagued NordVPN is poor speed performance. These tests were run mid-morning UK time, so I re-ran them early afternoon…

NordVPN down 2

NordVPN up 2

As you can see, the (download) results were considerably less impressive later in the day. My guess is that this relates to the time that the US wakes up. It strongly suggests to me that NordVPN is heavily oversubscribed.

NordVPN leaks

So no IPv4 or WebRTC leaks, but NordVPN does leak your real IPv6 address. Please note that those Private RFC IPs are local IPs only. They cannot be used to identify an individual, and so do not constitute an IP leak.

NordVPN itself admits that it does not prevent IPv6 leaks. It does provide instructions for manually disabling IPv6 in Windows and OS X, but these are hidden away in the support section of the website.

If NordVPN is unable to prevent IPv6 leaks (something many other providers manage quite happily), then I feel it should at least prominently flag the issue up in order to warn its users of the danger!

As noted earlier, US Netflix will work when connected to any server. I was pleased to note that BBC iPlayer also worked when connected to a UK server.

Other Platforms

NordVPN provides custom apps for Windows, Mac OS X, iOS and Android. It also provides manual setup guides for these platforms, plus Linux (Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi), Blackberry 10, Chromium, and various routers and NAS. These guides look a little on the bare-bones side, but should work well enough.

It is also possible to purchase a pre-configured NordVPN router from Flashrouters.

The Android App

2017-02-10 14.30.48

The app looks remarkably similar to the Windows client, which is a good thing.

2017-02-10 14.31.55

I detected no IPv4 or WebRTC leaks while using the Android app, but please bear in mind that IPv6 leaks are not blocked by NordVPN’s software.

Other/Free Services

NordVPN offers a number of privacy features that are free to everybody (not just subscribers). These includes a web proxy, a YouTube proxy, and a free proxy list. I would hardly trust my life to such tools, but it is nice of NordVPN to provide them.

Conclusion

 I liked:

  • No logs
  • Based in Panama (great for privacy)
  • Six simultaneous connections
  • Servers in 58 countries
  • P2P: yes
  • Three-day free trial
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Accepts bitcoins
  • Good encryption
  • VPN access for China via obfsproxy
  • Smart DNS service (when it works)
  • Works with US Netflix and BBC iPlayer
  • Socks5 proxies
  • Dedicated IP available on request
  • Double VPN (I’m a bit dubious, but others like it)
  • Per app kill switch (not firewall-based)

I wasn’t so sure about:

  • Tor over VPN (using the Tor Browser over VPN is safer)
  • Highly variable performance suggests the service is over-subscribed

I hated:

  • IPv6 leaks
  • Terrible support

NordVPN is undoubtedly a very fully-featured service. The fact that it is based in Panama and keeps no logs is also a big draw for those who care about privacy. Its software looks good, and by and large works well. Unfortunately, though, it does not prevent IPv6 leaks, and I do not think NordVN does enough to warn users about this issue.

I was also surprised by the very unhelpful attitude shown by NordVPN’s support team when I encountered technical issues. Bad NordVPN!

IPv6 leaks can be fixed, however, and most users will not encounter the technical issues I did. And anyway, the three-day free trial, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee, give you plenty of opportunity to ensure that everything works for you as it should. Speed performance, however, remains a problem.

What you get with NordVPN is a very fully featured, privacy-friendly VPN service. It is let down by a couple of serious flaws, but on balance I would say that the good outweighs the bad.

Visit NordVPN »


Douglas Crawford I am a freelance writer, technology enthusiast, and lover of life who enjoys spinning words and sharing knowledge for a living. Find me on Google+

Related Coverage

More

66 responses to “NordVPN Review – 2017

    I’m new to VPN’s so was impressed the ease of app and whole service. Now using on all my devices, really stable and satisfied with speeds also so far haven’t noticed any speed drops

    Nord has added a lot of new servers so now no speed drops at all!!! Excellent easy to use service now.

    I’ve just run speedtest on Germany server and got ~40Mbps what is near my ISP speed, so personally I’m satisfied with this service.

  1. I’m using nordVPN since early January 2017. Unfortunately, I’ve sunscribed for two years getting their “Christmas” discounted offer. Speed has always been a problem. Worked well during the first 30 days (until the Get-Maney-Back limit was reached), then I experienced several issues. Certain days speed is so slow that I can’t open a webpage (except maybe the simplest one). Changing server does not help much. Their support always answers with obvious solutions (e.g. – you’ve a trojan, or get another server, or get a server near to your location, etc. etc.).
    I submit instead the problem is theirs and that it’a a matter of overall bandwidth as, at night, at least here in Europe, servers suddenly work faster, just to return slow again in the morning.
    Conclusion: money thrown away.

    1. Hi Angelo,

      I think there is much to recommend NordVPN, but I believe your conclusions regarding it speed performance mirror my own.

  2. Using NordVPN for over 2 months on all my devices. So far I have found speeds to be reasonably fast. Streaming youtube(HD and 4k), browsing the web and downloading large files seem to be speedy with no lag.
    I do however, experience an internet dropout when using their IKEv2 protocol on my android device via Strongswan. When my phone’s screen is off for over 30mins, the internet is drops. This does not happen when I use their official application.

  3. Enjoying this service much. All gets A+ from my experience. Maybe they had some issues in the past but it’s worth to try it.

  4. What are your impressions of the ios version? My iPhone seems to disconnect the VPN as soon as it goes into auto-lock. After unlocking, I have no internet connection until the phone connects to the VPN. It looks like this is their “Kill Switch”. The problem is that even when the iphone is locked, i’m still able to receive push notification for example from messangers app etc. It seems that there is no VPN protection all the time.

    Is the situation the same for all VPN providers? I am close to the end of my annual subscription and I am seriously thinking about changing the service provider.

    1. Hi Jack,

      So… BestVPN.com runs a central office, but also employs some of its staff on a freelance remote-worker basis. This includes many of our reviewers, and myself. BestVPN does not currently have the resources to equip all our remote workers with a full selection of Windows, Linux, iOS, MacOS and Android devices, so reviews are performed on the devices we have. And I do not have an iOS device.

      The problems you describe most certainly should not be happening. And I do not suffer these issues on my Android devices. The best thing I can suggest is, when your subscription runs out, to try a couple of other VPN services (ExpressVPN, for example, offers 30-day no-quibble money back guarantee). You can test to see how they compare with NordVPN and whether their iOS apps suffer the same problems.

  5. Maybe I’m just lucky guy, but I’ve got great support help, totally satisfied with their work. Everything else also good so far.

  6. Bought after congress let ISP to sell browsing history. First sights – app very easy to use, stability is just awesome – connected on my iOS 2 days ago and still no connection drop! Speeds for my usual activities are pretty good, i get about 50Mbps, of course sometimes you have to search for server which is not overcrowded

  7. Just bought. I’m happy with everything. Found out this weekend there are a lot of not overcrowded servers in US where i got ~50Mbps. (Comment slightly edited to remove promo code – sorry!)

    • Not Rated

    speed could be better – webrtc toll would be fine, ipv6 leaks repaired … for that price it’s ok; if i would have to hide something i would change the vendor

  8. speed could be better … but for that price … it’s ok, if i would have more speed, i would change to another vendor

    Excellent VPN, avec un super cryptage, plein de fonctionnalités et il marche avec Netflix et BBC. La top classe

    I’m for a month with NordVPN and think will stay with it. Located in Europe and pretty happy with speeds, have about 50Mbps

    Don’t know what these guys are doing, but i reach quite the same speed like my ISP and i’m paying amusing price i could say for the whole what i get

    Using frequently, mostly in UK and eastern Europe. Never had any issues with speed drops or accessing Netflix, Hulu or other services. So far enjoying it a lot.

  9. NordVPN must experience some serious problem with their network, nowadays, e.g. they’re facing some heavy bottleneck (too many new subscriptions?), and they’re forced to use some kind of bandwidth limitation intentionally limiting download speeds. These have dramatically collapsed (at least here in Europe) starting from mid-March ’17. The network is presently unusable (avg. speed 0 kbps).

    1. Hi, had very similar issue as yours so I talked with someone over the live chat, techs suggested to try different servers and now all seems to be good. People seem to prefer one server over others and that probably impacts the experience. Try contacting their support if the problem still persist, regardless these mixed experiences mentioned in the review, they ended up being very helpful, at least for me. Hope they will solve your problem.

  10. Speeds are a major issue. It seems to me that traffic is heavily limited during the days, but left “free” at night, at least here in Europe (Italy, actually). During daytime it even happens that NordVPN’s client “loses” connection to his server, and you’re left unprotected – You usually realize this because your navigation suddenly becomes fast!

    Tried and left satisfied. haven’t detected any ipv6 leak, i think nord have already fixed that issue, so this cons should be crossed out.
    Also I’ve stayed comfortable with support, got quick tutorial how to solve my problem.

    Using mostly in europe to access US content. Haven’t got any problems yet.
    Checked several times for Ip leak, but haven’t detected it anytime, su i think this problem have been already fixed up.
    The only thing is sometimes the speed is a little bit slower when you auto-connect to any server with active p2p client, paying no attention if the server supports p2p and you’re redirected, but after a few attempts to different servers – the problem disappears.

    Using for a while, so can’t resist to say that the whole product are improving very well.
    very good price/quality ratio in my opinion.
    i’ve updated the app and now there are very convenient option to choose the activity by what are you going to do and you are connected to the fastest server.
    Maybe i hadn’t got any serious issues, but can’t say anything bad about the customer service, stayed happy with support.

  11. I have a nordvpn subscription now for half a year and can agree with the cons.
    When contacting the support team i really think they only read half the mails i send and their reply does not solve any problem.
    The app, after updating,now does not work properly on my wetek hub.
    The version before 1.8.1 (current version) did work properly on wetek hub, and was fine for example to pair on openload.
    This was the first version of the app that worked properly on wetek hub but after updating to 1.8.1 it does not work fine.
    On a android smartphone the app works very good.

    I have been using NordVPN for 2 months now.
    1. I use a Microsoft Office business account with Outlook going to their exchange server, and NordVPN does not allow Outlook to connect. I have to turn it off to get my email. This is a killer. Their support guy told me to ask Microsoft to change their server settings. Yeah, like that’s going to work.
    2. The speed variability is also killer. If I don’t shut it off for Outlook, I shut it off because it’s become way way intolerably slooooow. It works great at 4am. But good luck mid day.
    3. UDP has never worked. When I first got NordVPN and it would not connect to anything. I talked to support and they walked me thru switching to their app to TCP. I’ve retried UDP after various updates and it still does not work.
    4. There is no function to look across the various servers to see which has fastest. I’ve tried to sequentially connect to one, test it with speedtest, and move to another. If only a few of the servers were overloaded, this might be tolerable if a fast one was quickly found, but alas, the hit ratio is non-existent–there are simply too many crawling servers to ever find that needle in the haystack.
    5. I think their answer to the IPV6 leak (configure your OS with IPV6 turned off) is absurd. They need to fix this.

    This is my first experience with a service like this and, given the high ranking of NordVPN in the reviews, wow must these services be universally awful.

    1. Hi John,

      As I think this review makes clear, there are problems with NordVPN. The fact that is based in Panama has in the past led many of our staff to rank it highly, but this is something we are going to pull back on in the future. NordVPN does have much to recommend it, but there are are better services out there.

      1. I’m afraid I don’t use Outook, so did not encounter this problem. My guess is that is has to do with the NordVPN software’s firewall…
      2. I agree.
      3. All I can say is that UPD worked find for me (and the above speed tests were performed using UDP).
      4. That would indeed be a useful feature, although (as far as I can tell) selecting a country will auto-connect you to the fastest server in that country.
      6. Agreed.

      I’ll just note that the star rating on this review was mistakenly left over from an earlier review. I have now downgraded the score to better reflect my feelings about NordVPN. There are some great VPN services out there, but NordVPN has some work to do before it can be considered one of them.

    2. I must say I had a similar issue as you, contacted NordVPN’s support and they said that SMTP 25 port is closed to prevent spamming through their servers. I had to change that port manually in order to fix the issue. Although I was using my personal email client, you should check Microsoft Exchange Server Manager and use it in order to change the port there.

      Other than that, I’ve never had any of your issues. I work in IT for almost ten years and my network is tweaked more than a bit, nevertheless, service seems to adopt just fine. IPv6 is not leaking through any of their apps, speed is usually around 50 Mbps, so there’s my two cents:)

      Oh, if UDP is not working, then that means that you have issues with your firewall. Open UDP 1194 port.

    Had no serious issues with the service so far. The only thing is that sometimes I need to try few different servers until I find a fastest one, however usually after few attempts I am able to max out my connection. Apart from that – great!

    After almost two month of use I can compliment NordVPN. The only problem I had was a drastic battery drain on an Android app and it is now resolved. I have contacted support team and they said that team is working on the issue. Honestly, I hardly believed that and BAM – they fixed it. Love the service now.

    Worst customer service ever. Subscribed and cancelled the same day, 1 hour apart. We are now 10 days later, still no confirmation of cancellation and no refund. They say it might take another few weeks! It takes them forever to respond to my emails and they say it is because of my bank that it takes so long… bullsh*t! But it took them only one day to charge my mastercard! These people don’t deserve your money, take your business elsewhere!

  12. I have read through all of these messages, and there are a few topics that need clarification, at least for me. Here we go….

    1. IP leaks. After being alerted to the IPv6 leaks, you replied that you HAD, in fact, detected an IPv6 leak, and that you had contacted NordVPN about it. Has NordVPN done anything to address the problem? If not, can I fully trust NordVPN to conceal and protect my actual IP address while running a P2P program? This sounds like a serious vulnerability to me.

    1a. IPv6 Leaks. I don’t understand what you meant by saying “Unfortunately, most ISPs still do not support IPv6….. which makes performing IPv6 leak tests tricky.” Please explain.
    How did you run the test successfully?

    1b. Can you tell me where and how, or suggest a reliable link, where I can run tests for any and all leaks? (DNS, WebRTC, IPv4, IPv6, others?).

    1c. ‘Alex’ wrote on 11/4/16 that he thoroughly checked for DNS, IPV4, IPV6 and WebRTC leaks and nothing is showing. But he said that he had disabled WebRTC IPv6 from his machine. Is that risky? Are other programs affected? How is that even done? What are the drawbacks, there’s gotta be some!
    And finally, what method was used to thoroughly check for these leaks?

    2. Why is it being said that NordVPN support is basically non-existent? Do you provide an online chat, or an 800 number when issues inevitably arise? Or is there just an email address where I have to wait for help?

    3. Wanted to confirm that NordVPN has an automatic kill switch? Messages indicate it does. How do you “check for it” as one writer suggests?

    4. Will I be able to select the locations of the server I will use? Am I sent to the best option automatically? Another VPN made me sign off & back on to select a specific location.

    Thank you for reading my concerns. Sorry for being so long-winded. I am ready to buy, but not until I have complete info, just like everyone here.

    You have my email address, I submitted it with this msg. If you prefer you can reply to my questions directly by email, or here in this forum if you prefer, or both. I’d prefer email, but it’s your call.
    Thanks again!

    1. Hi R R P,

      1. NordVPN responded by pointing us to this article. As I also replied to Anonymous Coward on this thread, do not consider this an adequate response. Most VPN users will not check to see if they have an IPv6 leak, and then search for solution hidden deep in NordVPN’s support database. They will instead blithely leak their real IP address for all the old to see, and not be aware of the issue.

      Most VPN apps from other providers these days at least disable IPv6. That NordVPN’s does not is a major problem. We have contacted NordVPN to let it know our feelings on this matter.

      1a. Many of BestVPN.com’s reviewers work from home using connections from ISPs that do not support IPv6. On my newer reviews, at least, I always note this, and state that I was unable to test for IPv6 leaks because of it. We are aware that this is an issue, and are working on fixing it. BestVPN.com is now looking into leasing an IPv6-capable line into our central office. Reviewers will then be able to remote-access this in order to run proper IPv6 tests.

      1b. ipleak.net now supports IPv6 leak tests, and is IMO by far the best one-stop-shop for IP leak detection when using a VPN.

      1c. Given that most home users at this point do not even have IPv6 available from their ISPs, disabling IPv6 does little harm at the present time. In fact, disabling IPv6 is what I and BestVPN.com officially recommend. It is also what most VPN clients do, but I also recommend manually disabling in your OS. Just in case.

      As use of IPv6 becomes more popular, disabling IPv6 may become more problematic. Good news, though, is that the new “official” open source OpenVPN supports IPv6 properly, so expect to see better support for IPv6 from providers moving forward (since most custom VPN clients are built on top of the official open source code).

      Please see here for a discussion on the subject, here for instructions on how to disable IPv6 in your OS, and here for my Complete Guide to IP leaks.

      2. As you can see from this review, this is not our experience. But I’m sure for JP it was.

      3. The NordVPN desktop client includes an automatic kill switch. I don’t think this is also true for its mobile apps. The only only way I know to test it is to kill the app suddenly (in Windows right-click icon in the Task Bar -> Exit). If the kill switch is working then you should no longer be able to access the internet until to reset your DNS settings.

      4. You can select server location.

      I have replied here because the answers may by helpful to other readers.

  13. Be careful, nordvpn is leaking ipv6 address. I tested it with two cabel providers in Germany vodaphone and Unitymedia) who both provide ipv6 and ipv6-test finds me with north VPN on.

    1. Hi Martin,

      Thanks for letting us know. Unfortunately, most ISPs still do not support IPv6. This is an issue which affects most of our reviewers, and which makes performing IPv6 lkeak tests tricky. We _have_ now performed an IPv6 leak test for NordVPN, and I can confirm that we detected an IPv6 leak. We have contacted NordVPN about this.

        1. Hi Anonymous Coward (love the name!),

          Yes. NordVPN has also pointed us to that page. I do not, however, consider this an adequate response. Most VPN users will not check to see if they have an IPv6 leak, and then search for solution hidden deep in NordVPN’s support database. They will instead blithely leak their real IP address for all the old to see, and not be aware of the issue.

          Most VPN apps from other providers these days at least disable IPv6. That NordVPN’s does not is a major problem. We have contacted NordVPN to let it know our feelings on this matter.

    No problems with the service whatsoever. Well, maybe Android app drains battery a bit too much, but other than that – reliable nice service.

  14. Does it’s job well in few clicks.

    Their new app for Windows has greatly improved, comparing to the old one. No more crashes, everything is very smooth and clean. They added enormous amount of servers over the past few months therefore speed has also increased. I have 50 Mbps connection and speed tests shows around 40-45 Mbps most of the time. No DNS or IP leaks, works with all geo-restricted services I need.

    1. Hi Devpn,

      Thanks for letting us know about the improved connection speeds, although we performed extensive test quite recently (early December) and still found speeds to be an issue.

    nord vpn claims to be the best but the truth is it actually doesnt hide your ip like everyone thinks…. if you simply type whats my ip into google while running the crappy coded software and run a torrenting program at the same time which is why half the world wants a vpn, you will find it will reveal your genuine ip and put you at risk!!! should you try to contact them about this issue they will ignore you and another thing about the poorly coded crap is it slows your pc completely!!! I SUGGEST ANYONE THINKING OF BUYING THIS CRAP TO LOOK ELSEWHERE!!!

  15. Over the past few years I tried more than few VPN services. I travel a lot and in order to access my home server I need a static IP, that’s where VPN comes in handy. And Nord does a great job regardless of where I am. What surprised me is that in addition to their security benefits, I was able to access US Netflix from any country I’ve been. This is a very rare bonus now, especially after Netflix started the war with VPN providers. Their apps are great and very easy to use, works on all of my devices.

    I was unable to find any obvious flaws. All in all – happy and recommending these guys to everyone.

    I have to say the NordVPN support is basically non-existent. I have submitted several support requests and the only reply is an automated reply with an ID# inserted as they have received my request. Also, the closest NordVPN severer to my location is ~178miles and my connectivity connection speed is approximately 55% of my ISP connectivity speed. I have tried all the possible Protocol selection and no improvement was noticed. I would not recommend NordVPN at this time unless you are nearby one of the existing NordVPN servers and didn’t require support.

  16. I’m a total newbie to this, so I need something clarified (sorry if it is a dumb-dumb question). So, I’ve read that if one is in the US, it is advisable to pick a service based outside the US to avoid Big Brother’s spying agency (you know the 3 letters). OK, say I pick NordVPN which is based in Panama. Now–at installation you need to pick a server. They are located all over the world. If I pick a US server, presuming the best performance that way, does that put me right back in the same boat of exposing myself to spying by that 3 letter US agency, or is that safe now because I’m using going through the VPN? Or–should I select a server outside the US? Sorry if that’s stupid question with an obvious answer, but I’m new to this and I don’t really know for sure what is obvious and what isn’t. THX in advance!

    1. Hi K.B,

      Assuming that you live in the US, picking a US server will (in general, although other factors apply) provide the best performance. If you are concerned about government spying, however, it is advisable both to use a non-US (or FVEY) based service, and also to use servers located outside these countries.

      1. Thanks so much for your prompt reply, Douglas! That’s what I thought, I just wanted to be sure. If I’m going to follow the recommendations I don’t want to do something stupid and invalidate my effort. Now, I don’t see FVEY at your link. Did you mean FYFY? (Love the glossary!)

        Another question: Are these services dependent on any certain router specs, or do they work through pretty much any relatively modern router/gateway? Thank you again!

        1. Hi K.B.,

          Ah. Yes, sorry. FVEY is an abbreviation of for Five Eyes. It’s my glossary that contains the typo (now fixed). VPN services usually work using a software client. Even moderate-spec smart phones are powerful enough these days to encrypt/decrypt OpenVPN connections with no meaningful slowdown. It _is_ possible to run a VPN client on your router. This has many advantages, but the router’s spec becomes a major factor. Only high-end routers have the processing grunt to handle VPN without badly slowing down your internet connection. Compare, for example, this and this recently reviewed routers.

  17. My favorite VPN. In past month speed has improved greatly, they are adding new servers on weekly basis, apps are great looking and very easy to use. Definitely a great choice!

  18. I enjoy the service. Definitely one of the best I’ve seen. Speed is fine, very easy to use as they have apps for all platforms. But best of all – still works with US Netflix!

  19. The slow speeds are a major concern. On occasion I have experienced speeds as slow as 10% of normal speed. This makes the service worthless in my opinion.

  20. I tried NordVPN and found that I could only use some “leased” servers to access HBO Go. I tried a few and found them too slow to watch a movie without interruptions of the movie stream. I unsubscribed.

    Leave your thoughts and impressions on NordVPN here.

    1. I really like NordVPN. The setup has been idiot-proofed – you can just download it and go (make sure you setup and check the kill-switch if torrenting) – and it works perfectly for my needs. The user-interface is clean and intuitive.

      The only issue I had was that the first P2P server I tried was painfully slow. I just skipped onto another and away I went. The kill-switch works really well and I haven’t had any problems with it at all, and I tested it thoroughly just to be on the safe side. I have also thoroughly checked for DNS, IPV4, IPV6 and WebRTC leaks and nothing is showing through (though nothing would with the latter two as they are disabled by default on my machine).

      They use GoogleDNS to resolve DNS requests, but even then Google does not actually know who you are as your request is coming from a VPN server with a shared IP. Google will also delete identifiable logs after 24-48 hours, but, as I say, even identifiable logs at Google will only direct anyone looking to NordVPN rather than the user.

      So far it has been very reliable too. Very occasionally it will have a little panic attack and reconnect and disconnect rapidly for a minute or so, but those seem to sort themselves out without any intervention, and they are rare enough that they can be ignored (easily a 9.5/10 for stability). Morevoer the kill-switch works so well in these situations that I am not concerned that my IP is being flashed around torrent trackers (not that I would ever download anything illegal, of course).

      I haven’t had much interaction with their customer service team yet so I do not have much to report on that unfortunately. However I did notice when digging around on their website that their live chat is very often unattended, even when you would expect them to be within working hours in Panama.

      1. Hi Alex,

        Yes, as long as a VPN provider fully proxies DNS requests, I don’t see a major problem with leveraging Google DNS (or similar).

        1. I just thought I would leave an update to say that my DNS no longer appears to be routed through Google DNS servers, and instead shares the same IP address as my VPN server. I don’t know why this change has occurred, but it is fine by me nonetheless.

          I have also now had more interaction with customer services. I have had both slow and quick responses from them, but the outcome of the the interaction was positive in that my problem was resolved (Spotify was not working over the VPN, which resolved when I disabled Smart-Play in the VPN settings).

          I also want to mention that the screenshots of NordVPN that you have in this article are dated. They have updated their app since this article was written, and it now has much nicer appearance.

          1. Hi Alex,

            Thanks for keeping us updated. I’m glad your issues have been resolved. Regarding the screenshots, unfortunately we can’t realistically keep up with every software update made by every VPN company. We do, however, re-review the more popular services fairly regularly, and the next time we do this for Windscribe we will review the updated client.

    2. Nord VPN started out great. But now their servers are down most of the time and the remaining ones are very slow. Used it for about four months but by the last month it was basically useless. Unless NordVPN gets their shit together i would reccomend that people stay far far away from their products.

      TL;DR: Nord VPN sucks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want to add a star rating to your comment? Click here
Price
Features
Reliability
Speed
Customer Service