Instagram is a world of pleasure for people who like to post photos and ‘like’ other people’s pics. In fact, these days it is one of the most important social media websites. It has even spawned a whole culture of how teenagers run their Instagram accounts in order to stay ‘cool.’ For those who can’t handle the pressure, simply deleting photos may not be the answer. Instead, they may end up asking: How do I permanently delete an Instagram account?
In this guide, we show you how to completely deactivate an Instagram account. We will take you through every step. You will know that once it is gone, it’s gone for good, and not hanging around to jeopardise your privacy.
- Why do people delete Instagram?
- Deactivate Instagram: Important considerations
- How to delete Instagram permanently: guide
- Stop Instagram knowing where you are with a VPN
Social media websites like Instagram can have a negative impact on people’s lives. Checking Instagram every minute of the day, obsessing over getting likes, or simply falling back on it every time you feel bored can be habit-forming. As a result, it can distract from important things like working or studying.
Some people stop doing hobbies that they used to love and start to obsess over their phone. When they realize that after checking Instagram they actually feel more depressed and lonelier, it can be an eye-opener.
A Downward Spiral
Victoria Gamlen was one of those people. In her article about deleting Instagram she states,
“The more I thought about it, the more I realized that checking Instagram had the same lingering effects as the self-destructive coping mechanisms in which I used to engage. In other words, I never felt better after checking Instagram, I always felt shittier. And lonelier. And uglier. And fatter. And emptier.”
As a result, Ms Gamlen realized that she didn’t have to remain a slave to the patterns of behavior Instagram was causing. “This observation led me to the mind-blowing revelation that I could delete it,” she says.
Other people decide that they don’t want to keep adding to a database of information on themselves. Ever since Facebook took over Instagram, some users have been concerned about its terms of service. In particular, the part that says:
“You agree that a business may pay Instagram to display your photos in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions without any compensation to you.”
Some people just aren’t comfortable knowing that Instagram (Facebook) owns their photos and can to share them with third parties.
In addition, the rise of hacking is making people realize that their photos could be stolen if Instagram was hacked.
No matter what the problem is, deleting Instagram permanently is an option. After all, no one is forcing you to be a member.
To delete your Instagram account, log in via an internet browser rather than the app. On the smartphone app you can only disable Instagram, not properly deactivate it.
Remember that once you delete an Instagram account all your account information, content, and data are gone forever. Thus if you only want to get away from your account temporarily, you may want to disable it rather than deactivate Instagram permanently. You have been warned!
In addition, unlike when deactivating Twitter and Facebook (where you can get an archive of your data), with Instagram you need to download manually any photos or videos that you want to keep.
1 – Log into your Instagram account with your username and password.
2 – Navigate to the delete account page here.
3 – Decide whether to temporarily disable or permanently delete Instagram.
4 – Select a reason.
5 – Confirm your password and click on ‘Permanently delete my account.’
6 – Next, confirm your wish to delete your Instagram account.
Your Instagram account is now deleted. Consequently, you are free to get on with life without worrying about sharing everything you do online in pictures.
Some people don’t mind posting a few photos on Instagram but don’t want the website to know their IP address.
With a VPN service, no matter where you log in to Instagram you appear to be in the location of the VPN service. This is a handy internet security tool. It allows you to limit the data that Instagram collects about you.
Delete Instagram: Conclusion
In this guide, we have shown you how to permanently deactivate an Instagram account. On the whole, Instagram is pretty safe, especially if you manage how you connect to it and what you post. Remember, you can always join Instagram using a nickname or alias. By doing so, you can enjoy the benefits of sharing your photos with select contacts who you want to see them.
For those who are sick of Instagram, this step by step guide means you can take action and delete your account. Just remember to download any photos and videos that you want to keep, before you deactivate your Instagram account. Otherwise you will lose them!