How to Permanently Delete Twitter

Has the time come for you to delete Twitter?

Twitter is fun, and it has become a fantastic resource for getting information on any subject. It is an endless well of information about every topic that you can think of. In fact, it is estimated that 6000 tweets a second get blasted across the web.

Some people use Twitter for work; other people simply want to connect with their favorite celebrities. Despite all the benefits, a common question that crops up is:

“How do I permanently delete Twitter?”

Sometimes accounts go sour, and account owners want to disappear from the world of tweeting. Other people become jaded and decide that after 20,000 tweets they don’t want to tweet anymore.

Whether it is to banish an awkward Twitter argument, or simply to fade away and regain your privacy, it is possible to permanently delete Twitter accounts. In this guide, we will show you exactly how to:

  1. Backup and download your entire Twitter archive for posterity
  2. Make your username or email address available for re-use before deleting the account
  3. Delete your Twitter account forever
  4. Troubleshoot if you are having problems with a deactivated account (it is reactivating)

However, before attempting to delete Twitter: Please read this Warning!

delete Twitter

Why get rid of Twitter?

One reason that people decide to delete Twitter is because of all the data that Twitter stores about them. For a start, Twitter monitors the device you are using. It also knows what OS you are using and which web browser you access Twitter from. Links and cookies are used to check your individual tastes.

Address books are synced, and if payments are made via a service owned by Twitter, then your card details are also on file (though you do have the option to scrub those details if you want). If you share a Tweet that reveals your location, this is also adding to the treasure trove of data that Twitter holds on you.

Your data can be used by Twitter in some ways too. Firstly, Twitter can use the data it has about you to target specific adverts. When it comes to sharing data with third parties, Twitter is pretty good and doesn’t disclose info unless users agree. However, if law enforcement wants your data for some reason, Twitter will hand it over if it is legally required. Other than that, mergers, acquisitions, sale of assets and bankruptcy may all be a reason for your data to be shared with a third party.

None of this is particularly invasive, and on the whole Twitter is a rather safe website to use. Perhaps the most invasive thing about Twitter is actually the tweets themselves, which go out to all corners of the world. So be careful what you write, or you could wind up embarrassed, or worse!

Delete Twitter – WARNING

Requesting a Twitter archive and downloading that archive, as well as deleting a Twitter account, must be done on a PC or laptop. You have to use the proper web version of Twitter to deactivate your account.

Remember: You cannot delete your Twitter account on the Android or iOS app versions of Twitter. This is simply not an option, so log onto your Twitter properly to delete Twitter.

Request and download your archive

The first thing you are going to want to do when you delete Twitter is to download the archive of your entire Tweet history. Unless, of course, you want to forget it happened altogether.

To get your archive, start by logging into Twitter using your username and password. Now, click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of your browser and click Settings.

deactivate Twitter

Next, scroll down the page a bit and select Request your archive.

As soon as you click on it, Twitter will send you a confirmation of the request. Following that, an email will be received that has a link to the archive download. Be aware that how much you Tweet will affect how long it takes to compile the download. If there is a lot of archived data, it may take some time.

When you receive the download link, just click on it to get access to the file. Remember there may be sensitive data amongst the contents of your archive, so be careful who you show it to.

Prepare your username for re-use before deleting the account

Some people may want to make their username or email address available for re-use before deleting the account. If you want to, this is what you should do:

  1. On the Internet (not android or iOS app), go to Settings by clicking the drop-down menu under your profile picture in the top-right of the screen.
  2. Click on username and choose a new username.
  3. Click on email address and change your email address to the new address that you wish to use.
  4. Confirm the new email address via the link that they send you (it is very important that you do this before you delete the account!)
  5. Your email and username are now available to use on a new account if you choose to sign up again (during the 30 day deactivation period).
  6. Go ahead and delete your Twitter account.

How to delete your Twitter account

  1. Log in to Twitter using your credentials.
  2. Click on your picture in the top right and choose settings.
  3. Move your mouse to the bottom of the Settings page and click Deactivate my account.


My account reactivated on its own!

If after you have received a confirmation email about your deactivation – your account becomes active again – then it is possible that your account has been compromised.

If it has been compromised you will need to do the following:

  • Change your password.
  • If your account has mysteriously reactivated, then it is possible that someone else has been on the account. For that reason, you are strongly advised to immediately change your password.
  • Update your app permissions and revoke privileges.

An important thing to note is that even though you have now changed your Twitter password, that does not mean all other instances of Twitter have also been updated. Twitter for iOS and Twitter for Android applications will still need to be manually stopped. To log the account out of the apps, sign in online and navigate to Apps in your settings. There you can revoke the apps so that the following time they start, you will be prompted for your new password.

30 days to change your mind


From the moment that you successfully deactivate your account, you will have 30 days until Twitter start scrubbing your data for good. Once the 30 days are up, the process of deleting your account from the Twitter systems begins. That process can, however, take up to a week. Also as mentioned in their Privacy Policy, it is possible to create an arrangement between you and Twitter to extend your deactivation period.

Delete Twitter – Conclusion

In this guide, we have shown you exactly how to delete your Twitter account forever. Remember that it is impossible to delete Twitter without first going online. You may not delete your Twitter on the iOS (iPhone) or Android app versions of Twitter.

Finally, anybody that is really interested in online anonymity and digital privacy is strongly recommended to seriously consider getting a VPN service. For information about why a VPN is such a great privacy tool check out our article here. Alternatively, take a look at our most recommended 5 Best VPNs here. If you have any questions at all, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

From the whole team here at – We hope you enjoy your new stress-free, Twitterless life!

Ray Walsh I am a freelance journalist and blogger from England. I am highly interested in politics and in particular the subject of IR and I am an advocate for freedom of speech, equality and personal privacy. On a more personal level I like to stay active, love snowboarding, swimming and cycling, enjoy seafood and love to listen to trap music.

Related Coverage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *